CPU upgrade? newbie here!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Gpdemers

I have a Intel Celeron 346, 775 LGA socket 3.06GHz. chipset P965/G965 rev.C2. 8GB ram. windowa 10 Pro. My question to you is what is my best option for upgrading my CPU, or should I go for motherboard as well?
Any help will be greatly appreciated!

crjdriver

You need to post the exact mb you have installed.
If this is a big box system ie dell, hp, whatever, you do understand that IF you install a new board, you need to purchase a new windows lic. If this is a custom build, then you can swap whatever you want.

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
I have a Intel Celeron 346, 775 LGA socket 3.06GHz. chipset P965/G965 rev.C2. 8GB ram. windowa 10 Pro.
If that computer has an Intel Celeron D 346 3.06 GHz single core processor(which has a very low benchmark score of 284), it definitely shouldn't be running Windows 10 Pro.
It's even too weak to run Windows XP decently.

Since your computer has an Intel P965 chipset, it does support up to 8 GB of DDR2 RAM.
It looks like you've already maxed it out.

Your computer's hardware is too old and too slow.
You'd probably be better off buying a refurbished computer with Windows 10.

--------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited:

Gpdemers

If that computer has an Intel Celeron D 346 3.06 GHz single core processor(which has a very low benchmark score of 284), it definitely shouldn't be running Windows 10 Pro.
It's even too weak to run Windows XP decently.

Since your computer has an Intel P965 chipset, it does support up to 8 GB of DDR2 RAM.
It looks like you've already maxed it out.

Your computer's hardware is too old and too slow.
You'd probably be better off buying a refurbished computer with Windows 10.

--------------------------------------------------------------