1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cpu usage always arnd 50percent*with screenshot*

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by nestleomega, Apr 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nestleomega

    nestleomega Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    hi, acer aspire 4520, windows xp newly installed, formatted twice. No software installed-claen install.

    Ok, my cpu usage always hover around 48 to 70percent. and the cpu fan air is damn hot. but system idle process is 99% percent.
    reformatted my laptop twice already but problem still persists.

    could it be hardware prob? what prob is it? thananks
     

    Attached Files:

    • pic.GIF
      pic.GIF
      File size:
      124.4 KB
      Views:
      302
  2. aka Brett

    aka Brett Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16,918
    Check show processes from all users..lets see if a couple more processes show up and hopefully the offender will be listed
     
  3. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Please click here to download and install version 2.0.2 of the HijackThis Installer.

    Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile.

    The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next post.

    Do not fix anything
     
  4. nestleomega

    nestleomega Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 5:22:17 PM, on 4/11/2010
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Internet Download Manager\IDMan.exe
    C:\DOCUME~1\UserXP\LOCALS~1\Temp\RtkBtMnt.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin32\nSvcAppFlt.exe
    C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin32\nSvcIp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RTHDCPL] RTHDCPL.EXE
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Google Update] "C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe" /c
    O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvlsp.dll
    O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvlsp.dll
    O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvlsp.dll
    O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvlsp.dll
    O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.google.com
    O23 - Service: ForceWare Intelligent Application Manager (IAM) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin32\nSvcAppFlt.exe
    O23 - Service: ForceWare IP service (nSvcIp) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin32\nSvcIp.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe

    --
    End of file - 2684 bytes


    ok, any idea, thanks.
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    You could download and run the free Process Explorer. You'll be able to precisely identify the culprit. By right-clicking on the process showing high CPU and selecting Properties… > Threads tab, you'll be able to pinpoint the thread that's hogging CPU within the process. You'll need to slide the bar left of CSwitch Delta in order to see the CPU values.

    Process Explorer doesn't require any installation. Simply run the executable file once downloaded. Then, configure the Process Explorer window to your liking. You can even replace the Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+DEL) by clicking on Options > Replace Task Manager. You'll get a lot more features and details than with the Task Manager.

    To determine which Process might be hogging CPU, click on the little graphs located at the top right of the window. A new window with four graphs will open, the first one being CPU. Click inside the window and press the spacebar to freeze the display. This will make it easier to hover your mouse cursor over the CPU peaks in order to read which process(es) is/are creating them. ​
     
  6. nestleomega

    nestleomega Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    thx for the advice phantom010, but any idea whats "hardware interrupts" as shown in the Process Explorer
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    I don't understand why you have two wuauclt.exe (Windows Update) processes in there.
    Click Start > Run > type wuaucpl.cpl

    Select Notify me but don't automatically download or install them.

    As for "Hardware Interrupts", check the following:

    Click Start > Run > type devmgmt.msc

    Expand IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers.

    Right-click Primary IDE Channel and Secondary IDE Channel.

    Click Properties.

    Select Advanced Settings.

    Make sure the Transfer Mode is set to DMA and not PIO.

    In some cases, you might need to uninstall and reinstall the IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers' driver.

    You might even need a BIOS update.


    You might want to try updating your audio, video and network cards drivers first though. It might be all that's needed.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916987

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice