cpu usage always arnd 50percent*with screenshot*

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nestleomega

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2009
Messages
7
hi, acer aspire 4520, windows xp newly installed, formatted twice. No software installed-claen install.

Ok, my cpu usage always hover around 48 to 70percent. and the cpu fan air is damn hot. but system idle process is 99% percent.
reformatted my laptop twice already but problem still persists.

could it be hardware prob? what prob is it? thananks
 

Attachments

aka Brett

Banned
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
16,918
Check show processes from all users..lets see if a couple more processes show up and hopefully the offender will be listed
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
Please click here to download and install version 2.0.2 of the HijackThis Installer.

Run it and select Do a system scan and save a logfile.

The log will be saved in Notepad. Copy and paste the log in your next post.

Do not fix anything
 

nestleomega

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2009
Messages
7
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 5:22:17 PM, on 4/11/2010
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\RTHDCPL.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Download Manager\IDMan.exe
C:\DOCUME~1\UserXP\LOCALS~1\Temp\RtkBtMnt.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin32\nSvcAppFlt.exe
C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin32\nSvcIp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RTHDCPL] RTHDCPL.EXE
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Google Update] "C:\Documents and Settings\UserXP\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe" /c
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvlsp.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvlsp.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvlsp.dll
O10 - Unknown file in Winsock LSP: c:\windows\system32\nvlsp.dll
O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://www.google.com
O23 - Service: ForceWare Intelligent Application Manager (IAM) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin32\nSvcAppFlt.exe
O23 - Service: ForceWare IP service (nSvcIp) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NetworkAccessManager\bin32\nSvcIp.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe

--
End of file - 2684 bytes


ok, any idea, thanks.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
You could download and run the free Process Explorer. You'll be able to precisely identify the culprit. By right-clicking on the process showing high CPU and selecting Properties… > Threads tab, you'll be able to pinpoint the thread that's hogging CPU within the process. You'll need to slide the bar left of CSwitch Delta in order to see the CPU values.

Process Explorer doesn't require any installation. Simply run the executable file once downloaded. Then, configure the Process Explorer window to your liking. You can even replace the Task Manager (CTRL+ALT+
DEL) by clicking on Options > Replace Task Manager. You'll get a lot more features and details than with the Task Manager.

To determine which Process might be hogging CPU, click on the little graphs located at the top right of the window. A new window with four graphs will open, the first one being CPU. Click inside the window and press the spacebar to freeze the display. This will make it easier to hover your mouse cursor over the CPU peaks in order to read which process(es) is/are creating them.
 

nestleomega

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 20, 2009
Messages
7
thx for the advice phantom010, but any idea whats "hardware interrupts" as shown in the Process Explorer
 

Attachments

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,801
I don't understand why you have two wuauclt.exe (Windows Update) processes in there.
Click Start > Run > type wuaucpl.cpl

Select Notify me but don't automatically download or install them.

As for "Hardware Interrupts", check the following:

Click Start > Run > type devmgmt.msc

Expand IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers.

Right-click Primary IDE Channel and Secondary IDE Channel.

Click Properties.

Select Advanced Settings.

Make sure the Transfer Mode is set to DMA and not PIO.

In some cases, you might need to uninstall and reinstall the IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers' driver.

You might even need a BIOS update.


You might want to try updating your audio, video and network cards drivers first though. It might be all that's needed.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top