1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cpu usage hits 100% when I...

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Amishanthony, Nov 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Amishanthony

    Amishanthony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    make windows media player full screen and then my computer starts going really slow until I close it. What gives :confused:
     
  2. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    If that full screen is not interfereng with you media viewing quality I would not worry about it. Assuming of course that in full screen mode you arent multitasking, doing other things, but enjoying the full screen.

    How much memory do you have on that computer.
     
  3. Amishanthony

    Amishanthony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Thanks for the reply :)

    It does interfere with the quality in that the audio and video do not sync correctly and the video slows down immensely. While I do it I do not multitask either, it is strange because it only does it with windows media player and not others like real, quicktime, or etc.

    I have 1 Gig of ram and plenty of harddrive space.
     
  4. inuyasha320

    inuyasha320

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    896
    never had that problem before.

    sometimes, i will have windows media player running on 1 monitor, while i use photoshop on the other screen.

    I don't even get a tiny bit of slow down even when i apply a filter to a very large image.


    (pc specs amd athlon xp 2400+ overclocked to 2600+, 1 gig ram, windows xp pro fully msconfig tweaked for extra speed)


    try posting a hijackthis log so we can get a idea of what is running in the background.
     
  5. Amishanthony

    Amishanthony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Alrighty here is the log.

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.0
    Scan saved at 12:48:16 AM, on 11/7/2005
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\ewido\security suite\ewidoctrl.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7DEBUG\MDM.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\IWP\NPFMntor.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
    c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\jusched.exe
    C:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\hphmon06.exe
    C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb06.exe
    C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPWuSchd2.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe
    C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\HELPAN~1\HPQ\XPXWWPP5\plugin\bin\pchbutton.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe
    C:\Program Files\Updates from HP\309731\Program\Updates from HP.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasDtServ.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hijackthis\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.altavista.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www2.stockton.edu/
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: HP view - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - c:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\HPDTLK02.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\jusched.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [IgfxTray] C:\WINDOWS\system32\igfxtray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HotKeysCmds] C:\WINDOWS\system32\hkcmd.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPHUPD06] c:\Program Files\HP\{AAC4FC36-8F89-4587-8DD3-EBC57C83374D}\hphupd06.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPHmon06] C:\WINDOWS\system32\hphmon06.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KBD] C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdateManager] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sonic\Update Manager\sgtray.exe" /r
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Recguard] C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PS2] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ps2.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LSBWatcher] c:\hp\drivers\hplsbwatcher\lsburnwatcher.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Symantec NetDriver Monitor] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMNET~1\SNDMon.exe /Consumer
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HPDJ Taskbar Utility] C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb06.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\system32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP Software Update] C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPWuSchd2.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [gcasServ] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [MSMSGS] "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Acme.PCHButton] C:\PROGRA~1\HELPAN~1\HPQ\XPXWWPP5\plugin\bin\pchbutton.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: HP Digital Imaging Monitor.lnk = C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\OSA9.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: Updates from HP.lnk = C:\Program Files\Updates from HP\309731\Program\Updates from HP.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MI1933~1\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MI1933~1\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=39204&clcid=0x409
    O23 - Service: Symantec Event Manager - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Password Validation - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccPwdSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Settings Manager - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    O23 - Service: ewido security suite control - ewido networks - C:\Program Files\ewido\security suite\ewidoctrl.exe
    O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Auto-Protect Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Norton AntiVirus Firewall Monitor Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\IWP\NPFMntor.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvsvc32.exe
    O23 - Service: SAVScan - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\SAVScan.exe
    O23 - Service: ScriptBlocking Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\SYMANT~1\SCRIPT~1\SBServ.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec SPBBCSvc - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SPBBC\SPBBCSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec Core LC - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\CCPD-LC\symlcsvc.exe
    O23 - Service: SymWMI Service - Symantec Corporation - c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Security Center\SymWSC.exe
     
  6. Amishanthony

    Amishanthony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    Can't anyone help? It doesn't seem to just be windows media player anymore it is all media players. Everything gets really slow and when I look at cpu usage on the task manager it says 100%. What gives?
     
  7. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    Depending what you are looking at in the task manager.

    Instead of looking at the performance tab/cpu usage in the task manager, click on the processes tab.

    Just to the right of the file name scroll up and down and look in the CPU collumn to see which program is using which high numbers.

    High numbers in the "system idle process" are good, say for example if it reads 98 that means your system resources are 98% free and raring to go which is good.

    Other listings using high numbers are a different matter.

    I think your 100% is your media player. If you do other stuff that may go down to 80% and the other 20% alloted to the added task. Add another and windows just allocates system resources accordingly to multi task.

    .
     

    Attached Files:

    • wtm.JPG
      wtm.JPG
      File size:
      33.4 KB
      Views:
      57
  8. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    With your task manager window open and the "process" tab in view, right click on the proper .exe for your media player and then click "set priority"

    Then click "high" and then OK to approve this change and then see if that might improve your video on monitor 2 while you use monitor 1.
     
  9. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    Are your video functions integrated into your motherboard or are you using a video card?

    If so how much video memory does your video card have?

    What are you doing on the other monitor as the video is playing in the other monitor? More video?
     
  10. jp1203

    jp1203

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,427
    Mine was like that too.

    I experimented w/ two monitors for a while, but ended up going back to one. I would play a 1024X768 30 min. video clip on WMP on one monitor while using the GIMP on the other, and didn't get the slightest bit of sluggishness, CPU was at about 10-jumped to about 40 when applying a filter to a 1600X1200 Photo, but not slow.

    SPECS
    600 MHz PIII
    128 MB RAM
    7200 RPM 13.5 GB HDD
    Windows 2000 Pro SP4 Rollup 1
    Monitor 1 on NVidia Riva TNT2 (32mb) AGP
    Monitor 2 on 3dfx Voodoo 3 2000 (16 MB) PCI
    If this machine can manage that easily, I don't see why you are having issues w/ one monitor full screen, something has got to be wrong.

    Hmmm... tricky one...
     
  11. inuyasha320

    inuyasha320

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    896
    he has a lot of running processes but they shouldnt cause that problem.

    does he have SRS enabled

    or running a visual?



    if he wants, this could lower the running processes a bit but not 100% sure if it will completely fix the problem but it will help.


    go to start,

    click on run

    type in msconfig
    press enter

    click on selective startup.

    then after that uncheck the box that says load startup items.

    then click on the tab that says services,
    then check the box that says hide all microsoft services

    then uncheck every in the list that has the word symantec in it



    then apply, then restart


    PS a msconfig change can always be undone by selecting, normal startup
     
  12. Amishanthony

    Amishanthony Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84
    I am still having the problem after trying your suggestion. What is an SRS?
     
  13. inuyasha320

    inuyasha320

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    896
  14. needafix

    needafix

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    983
    .

    Wow, had to hook up 4 monitors to look at that pic.

    .
     
  15. Dat Dude

    Dat Dude

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    23
    im having the same problem
    whatever i use to watch media in full screen uses 100% processes media player,VLC player,reaplayer,BS player all em n when it goes to fullscreen it's lik watchin stills at 4 sec pace i don't got any virsuses i factory restored it not to long ago n don't go warez sites anymore
    i got micrsoft antispyware, adware se, spybot n hijackthis i don't got a virus
    1.8ghz athlon
    352 ddr-am
    no video card
    not sure if that help but i really don't know whats wrong wit it
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/414452

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice