1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CPU Usage Too High

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by DexterDave, Oct 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DexterDave

    DexterDave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Hi All.

    I have a Windows XP Pro SP3 (Intel Celeron 2.66GHz; 480MB RAM) PC. Now when it starts up, for the first 10 min about the CPU usage stays at 100%(in taskmanager) even though I'm not running any apps. The RAM usage is low(about 20%) when the CPU usage is at this peak. Now there aren't many processes and programs since I've recently formatted it and haven't installed many apps or used a lot of hard disk space. But after like 10mins, CPU usage drops to about 10-20% with no appa running. Why is that?

    Thanks
     
  2. abc12345

    abc12345 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    22
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    That computer can definitely use another 512 MB of RAM.

    Do you know how to submit a HiJackThis scan log here?

    ------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. DexterDave

    DexterDave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    @abc12345 - Thanks, will try it out.
    @flavallee -Hi... Not really but I'll figure it out and post a scan log as soon as I can...watch this space->
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    Go here and click the green "Download latest version" link to download and save HiJackThis 2.0.4.

    After it's been downloaded and saved, close all open windows first, then double-click the saved file to install it.

    Allow it to install in its default location - C:\Program Files.

    After it's been installed, start it and then click "Do a system scan and save a log file".

    When the scan is finished in less than 30 seconds, a log file will appear.

    Save that log file.

    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the entire log file here.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. DexterDave

    DexterDave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4
    Scan saved at 1:12:44 AM, on 10/31/2011
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 SP3 (8.00.6001.18702)
    Boot mode: Normal
    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\Antimalware\MsMpEng.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\GrooveMonitor.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\mscorsvw.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\sistray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    C:\Program Files\FlashOffliner\FlashOffliner.exe
    C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\taskmgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\msiexec.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HiJackThis\HiJackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = my.daemon-search.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page =
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: Groove GFS Browser Helper - {72853161-30C5-4D22-B7F9-0BBC1D38A37E} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office12\GRA8E1~1.DLL
    O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: DAEMON Tools Toolbar - {32099AAC-C132-4136-9E9A-4E364A424E17} - C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Toolbar\DTToolbar.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SiSPower] Rundll32.exe SiSPower.dll,ModeAgent
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SiSUSBRG] C:\WINDOWS\SiSUSBrg.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSC] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe" -hide -runkey
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [GrooveMonitor] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\GrooveMonitor.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe ARM] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\ARM\1.0\AdobeARM.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [DAEMON Tools Lite] "C:\Program Files\DAEMON Tools Lite\DTLite.exe" -autorun
    O4 - Startup: FlashOffliner.lnk = C:\Program Files\FlashOffliner\FlashOffliner.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: Utility Tray.lnk = C:\WINDOWS\system32\sistray.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office12\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: Send to OneNote - {2670000A-7350-4f3c-8081-5663EE0C6C49} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office12\ONBttnIE.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: S&end to OneNote - {2670000A-7350-4f3c-8081-5663EE0C6C49} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office12\ONBttnIE.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{6CF8ACE0-83B1-4672-8A4B-D73420C6A5F4}: NameServer = 196.43.45.190 196.43.46.190
    O18 - Protocol: grooveLocalGWS - {88FED34C-F0CA-4636-A375-3CB6248B04CD} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office12\GR99D3~1.DLL
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Browseui preloader - {438755C2-A8BA-11D1-B96B-00A0C90312E1} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O22 - SharedTaskScheduler: Component Categories cache daemon - {8C7461EF-2B13-11d2-BE35-3078302C2030} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\browseui.dll
    O23 - Service: Java Quick Starter (JavaQuickStarterService) - Sun Microsystems, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    --
    End of file - 4986 bytes
     
  7. DexterDave

    DexterDave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    I see MSE has antimalware built in. Is it wise to use a third party anti-malware like Malwarebytes?
     
  8. abc12345

    abc12345 Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    The link I provided you isnt for malwarebytes.It is for start up lite, but to answer your question yes it is safe to use,and from what ive seen browsing through some of the threads highly recommended.
     
  9. jandttech

    jandttech Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Unauthorized content removed
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    I use

    Microsoft Security Essentials 2.1.1116.0

    Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.51.2.1300

    SUPERAntiSpyware 5.0.0.1134


    in all 4 of my computers.

    MSE has "real time" monitoring for viruses and malware.

    The free version of MBAM and SAS does NOT have "real time" monitoring.

    I allow MSE to do its own thing.

    I start and run a scan with MBAM and SAS about once a week - after first updating their definition files.

    This is what works well for me and many others here.

    -----------------------------------------------------
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    GrooveMonitor and Adobe and Java can be unchecked in the startup list.

    Java can be set to "Manual" in the services list.

    Other than that, the startup load in that computer is okay. (y)

    --------------------------------------------------------

    I'm guessing that computer will support up to 2048 MB(2 GB) of RAM, so I would increase it to at least 1024 MB(1 GB).

    Programs and computer functions have gotten too memory-hungry over the years to continue running with 512 MB.

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Cookiegal

    Cookiegal Administrator Malware Specialist Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    115,921
    First Name:
    Karen
    jandttech,

    Please refer to the rules concerning HijackThis log analysis and malware removal.

    http://www.techguy.org/rules.html

    Log Analysis/Malware Removal - In order to ensure that advice given to users is consistent and of the highest quality, those who wish to assist with security related matters must first graduate from one of the malware boot camp training universities or be approved by the administration as already being qualified. Those authorized to help with malware issues have a gold shield [​IMG] next to their name and authorized malware removal trainees have a blue shield [​IMG] next to their names. Anyone wishing to participate in a training program should contact a Moderator for more information.

    Please refrain from replying to security related matters until you have presented evidence to one of the moderators or admins here that proves you to be qualified to do so. If you are not yet qualified and interested in being trained, we will be glad to help you get enrolled at one of the free online training facilities. Just PM me or one of the other moderators that work Security and we'll point you in the right direction.

    Thanks in advance for your cooperation. :)
     
  13. DexterDave

    DexterDave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    Thanks guys, I appreciate it.
    One question though flavallee, where do I uncheck Java, Groove Monitor and Adobe in the startup list? This is actually my back-up PC, I normally use Windows 7 so I'm not very familiar with XP. And with Java set to manual, won't the Java apps be unable to run unless I start-up Java everytime manually? Cause I do not really know which of my apps use Java? I use this pc mainly for small gaming and movies
     
  14. DexterDave

    DexterDave Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    310
    No worries, found it thanks-> msconfig...
     
  15. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    Start - Run - MSCONFIG - OK - "Startup" tab

    for the startup entries.

    Start - Run - SERVICES.MSC - OK

    for the service entries.

    To prevent a startup entry from auto-starting, you uncheck it, then apply the change.

    To prevent a service entry from auto-starting(except when it's needed), you double-click it to open its properties window, then change the startup type setting, then apply the change.

    The procedure is the same for Windows XP and Windows 7.

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    Just to make sure you didn't do something that you shouldn't have, go to

    Start - Run - MSCONFIG - OK - "Services" tab.

    Uncheck "Hide all Microsoft services".

    Make sure ALL entries are checked.

    ----------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1024716

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice