1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Crash after crash after crash!

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by RachelS, Jan 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RachelS

RachelS Thread Starter

Hey everyone, it's my first time posting here, so hopefully I get this all right. I've been having issues for the past year or so with my computer crashing randomly. It can happen any time of day, running any amount of programs, but it does seem to happen more often when I'm running something with higher graphics demand. It comes without warning, no lag/freezing/stuttering of any sort, and sounds will stop, and my monitor looks like it's been disconnected, but I can hear the PC still running as usual, no strange sounds from inside the tower.
    I have weekly scheduled defrags and virus checks (I've used Trend Micro's Housecall in past as well as Windows' own new virus program and have seen a virus or two in the past, but no issues removing them and none recently). I have used CCleaner and Registry Clean Expert to check my registry for errors. I also have a program called Driver Checker that scans all my drivers and theoretically they should all be updated. I'm at my wit's end with this thing.

Here's the info from this site's own system info scanner. If anything else is needed please let me know and I'll post it.

OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium , Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) 9500 Quad-Core Processor, x64 Family 16 Model 2 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 2814 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon X1250, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 147761 MB, Free - 17226 MB; D: Total - 147488 MB, Free - 31447 MB; F: Total - 76308 MB, Free - 39818 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer , F690GVM , ,