1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Crashing/frequent lag

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by swash984, Aug 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. swash984

    swash984 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Well after a major problem with my O.S. I bought windows 7 ultimate. The O.S seems to work but I'm having an issue with it. It uses a lot more cpu then expected yet I have almost nothing running? I checked my processes and Everything seemed to be fine except one program uses 100 cpu no matter how small even watching a small youtube video. Now usually people have these problems with low ram. I have 2 gb of ram and 2.1 ghz. I also have 300 gb of memory. I tried tweaking it up a bit with the registry tweaks and everything i could do in MSCONFIG. It lags most of my games 99% of the time i can't even record with fraps without it lagging hardcore. Ik many other computers worse than mine that run faster. also it tends to crash on me sometimes and it doesn't give me any real reason. Before i re-installed the O.S. though I had my younger cousin on it and he installed things without my persmission. Since he was young and didn't know better he installed every terrible worm on internet explore. I had to delete Windows and re-install it (It said 2 times to go to windows safe mode to get rid of a virus) If anyone can help me with this issue I would be very grateful. All drivers are up to date.
     
  2. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
    Did you do a clean install, or just update it from previous Windows system?

    Please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread.
    Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
     
  3. swash984

    swash984 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I did a clean install. And it's a Toshiba laptop. The log
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Sempron(tm) SI-42, x64 Family 17 Model 3 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1790 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon 3100 Graphics, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 228692 MB, Free - 168045 MB;
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA, NBWAE
    Antivirus: AVG Internet Security 2012, Updated and Enabled
     
  4. captainron276

    captainron276 Ron

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,754
    OK, hopefully one of the Tech's will be along to give you a hand soon.
     
  5. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I'm guessing this is a cheap netbook. It's underpowered. I doubt it shipped with Windows 7 Ultimate. Where exactly did you buy this?
     
  6. swash984

    swash984 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    It's not a netbook, and no as i said above I bought windows 7 ultimate. I bought the laptop at some store.. on sale.. on Black Friday. Cost me around 400 at the time. It originally had windows 7 Premium
     
  7. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You did not pay $400 for a previous-Windows lpatop and then spend $100+ on a Windows 7 license. Your vernacular betrays you.
     
  8. swash984

    swash984 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I had the laptop for 3 years now. After my cousin came and flooded it with worms I had to buy a new O.S because Toshiba wanted me to pay 300 to get it fixed. Then I said I'm poor and they took it all the way down to 30 dollars (I knew they were probably terrible) So I just Installed a fresh new better O.S. So, lets get down to the point. Is it possible to make this comp better without having to spend money on a new power supply.
     
  9. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Let's not.

    You didn't buy a legal Windows 7 license.

    Go buy a legal Windows license, reinstall, and then come back here if you have problems.
     
  10. swash984

    swash984 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    It was legal o_O
     
  11. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    I'll wait for the mods to post the link to prove it. Your little "o"s don't instill confidence.
     
  12. swash984

    swash984 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    that's a curious face, and alright il wait.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1065512