1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Create sequential invoice numbers in Excel for Mac 2011

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by greeneg, Jul 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. greeneg

greeneg Thread Starter

Hi!

I need to create an Excel spreadsheet for invoices. I'd like the original to be Invoice 000001. Then, each time I open the sheet, I'd like it to increment +1, i.e., the first time I open the original, it becomes Invoice 000002, and so on.

I've been several hours now searching, and either nothing quite seems to fit, or it;s too advanced for me. I have zero macro experience, SEQ experience, etc., so if you have some thoughts, I would TRULYt appreciate it if you supplied them as though you were talking to your Labrador Retriever! :)

I know this is a matter of some fairly rudimentary code, but issues like where the code gets pasted, etc., are stumping me so far.

Thanks for any and all help!

2. etaf

etaf Wayne Moderator

what cells are you wanting to change
    do you mean excel - as the title says word?

3. greeneg

greeneg Thread Starter

Ooops!

Title should have said Excel.

I need to change just one cell. In other words, in the template there will be one cell with the invoice number in it. Each time I open the sheet I want that number to add +1.

So let's say cell A1, invoice number, has the value 000001 and I create a customer invoice The next time I open the template, I want A1 to read 000002, and I'll create and save another invoice. The time after that, the value when I open the template would be 000003, and so on.

Thanks !

4. etaf

etaf Wayne Moderator

i have changed the title for you

5. etaf

etaf Wayne Moderator

Code:
    Private Sub Workbook_Open()