1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Creating a LAN network at work

Discussion in 'Networking' started by SwitchNow, Nov 8, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. SwitchNow

SwitchNow Thread Starter

Hi, there so I'm helping out at a small company and am creating a LAN network, already completing some of the cablings and have learned all that. We ordered everything that a networking company suggested and I've got my head around most of it but included was a 24 port cat5e patch panel for 19" rack enclosure. We also ordered a Switch and I'm unsure how to wire from the switch to these patch panels, the switch itself has 24 ports but from what I can see the panel requires 24 cables to be wired into it for the panel to even be used.

I apologize if the explanation is bad or wrongly worded, I am a novice at this and am learning on the job so to speak. Any and all help would be welcome

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    The best help you can provide at this time is to advise the company to get somebody who already knows what they are doing. This sounds like a pretty simple job for a professional.

Learn the craft before taking on a job such as this.

Last edited: Nov 8, 2019
  3. SwitchNow

SwitchNow Thread Starter

The company im helping doesn't have the funding to hire the networking guys. And since I have I.T experience they asked me to help in this as well and I've been able to everything else just I'm not as sure about networking so thought id ask on a few of these forum sites.

4. zx10guy

zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter