1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Creating a network bridge using Windows XP to connect Dial-Up and DSL connections?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by static1994, Mar 6, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. static1994

    static1994 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Hey all. I have a question concerning bridging network connections on a Windows XP desktop computer. There is a bit of a backstory, so bear with me. I have a desktop computer connected to a DSL modem through the Wi-Fi router. It's not really in a place where cabling is efficient, so I use the desktop to connect other computers to the internet through Windows' "bridge connection" option in the connection settings. While I am able to successfully bridge the Ethernet port to my Wi-Fi adapter, and out to the internet, I am trying to do something that I haven't found many resources on, and I am not sure how possible it is.

    I have some older computers that require I connect them to a Dial-up phone line (and a few more modern ones that have the option along with ethernet that I am curious to test out) and I can't seem to figure out how to connect the older computer with the dial-up connection to the desktop's dial-up modem, bridge that to the wi-fi adapter, and provide it with internet access that way?

    If this is possible in windows XP, I would love to do it. If you need any extra information, I am glad to provide it. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,594
    First Name:
    Terry
    IF it is possible (and I doubt it) you will likely need a null modem to connect the two dial up modems.
     
  3. static1994

    static1994 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Wow, that is pretty cool, I've never heard of a null modem before. I will read a bit more about it. Would any special software be needed for it? also, I don't have very many modems with serial ports, and those I do have are only hardware. I need to shop around a bit for some software. The reason I was hoping to use phone cables is that the desktop, laptops, and modems have a phone jack. I need to look up a bit more about network connections (past and present) to see if this is possible. I will look into null modems too, they seem pretty fascinating. Would it be possible to use a server edition of windows to allow connectivity between two computers through the bridge?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144273

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice