1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Creating an MS Access database with many fields

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by sardaukar, Aug 4, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. sardaukar

sardaukar Thread Starter

Hello everyone. before we start: I am total newbie to Access (used few times, exited).
    Situation: i am trying to analyze data that has too many fields for Excel. Like - 10 right now and it could be NOT enough. Entering data may bring errors. And sometimes I require field connections.
    My thought was (unrealistic?) to create a MS Access database with many fields. An abstract of fields:
    1. Numbers, entered manually.
    2. Numbers, drop list + choice of "x" (no data)
    3. Letters, drop list with "x"
    4. Letters, drop list with "x"
    5. text, entered manually
    6. text, entered manually. An option to leave unfilled.
    7. text, entered manually
    8. text, entered manually
    9. text, entered manually
    10. text, entered manually
    11. text, entyered manually
    12. text, entered manually
    13.text, entered manually
    14. text, entered manually
    15. Complicated field. It checks field 5 versus fields 7, 9, 11 and 13.
    If field 5 corresponds with, say, field 7 and 9 - database automartically marks with, say, A
    If field 5 corresponds with, say, field 11 and 13 - marks as B
    If nothing, itchecks field 2 versus values entered into database (let us say, 200 positions)., if corresponds - marks with C
    If still nothing - marks X
    16. Check or uncheck. Only one choice. Like - "Is this product forgery?" if yes, user must check, if no - just leave unchecked.

Question:is it possible to create such thing by myself or I should hire some programmer?

2. Fireflycph

Fireflycph

First Name:
    Morten