Creating space on my computer to install risky software

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

chickenwings2

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 1, 2008
Messages
4
Hey everyone,

I'm involved in a project where I'm supposed to test various open source software.

After I'm done testing, I have to remove them (uninstall them).

It's a little risky to install these on my laptop because they're kind of half-baked, and it may be hard to get them out of my computer completely during uninstalling.

So here's my question: is it possible to create a safe space on my computer to install these softwares, such that in the end, I can literaly obliterate that space?

I was thinking of using VirtualPC to create virtual clones, installing these softwares in that environment, and then in the end, deleting the VirtualPC.

Anyone got a better idea?
 

Stoner

Banned
Joined
Oct 26, 2002
Messages
44,931
Creating a drive image of your hard drive before you start your project would be a good idea, imo.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
69
Why not download and install Microsoft VirtualPC. Then you can do what you like and just undo the changes or delete the machine.

Best thing is that its free!
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
Virtual environment would be great. But if it needs access to a USB device MS VPC doesn't have support for that.

Here is a couple of other options for you.
http://www.returnilvirtualsystem.com/

There are also program out there that will let you run a program inside a Sandbox.
http://www.sandboxie.com/

There is another Sandbox program that I know of that is pretty good I just can't remember the name of it. I will post back with that later.
 
Joined
Sep 4, 2003
Messages
4,912
I agree with the advice about using some type of imaging software such as Norton Ghost or Acronis True Image. I always keep a backup ghost image of my PC before installing any risky software. If I have problems or decide I don't want the software I simply restore the old image and the pc is back to exactly where you were before. This method has saved me countless times and is as simple as a few clicks.

Regards,
Rollin
 

buf

Joined
Nov 4, 2001
Messages
1,998
You mentioned Ghost and Acronis. If you have Acronis 11, it has a "safe zone" that can be used. I have version 11 but have never used that feature. Good luck.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top