1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Creative SB Audigy SE - Detected but no sound?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bakedleaf, Dec 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bakedleaf

    bakedleaf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Just bought this sound card, installed drivers, detected just fine.

    Only problem is no sound comes out at all. If i play a sound while the volume control is up (Windows 7) I can see the levels change, but there's just no sound at all.

    I tried turning the Digital Output Only off, but that didn't help either. Is the card busted?
     
  2. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Did you install the drivers using the CD that came with the hardware, or did you download the latest drivers off the net?

    Also, what is the specific make and model of the sound card and the make and model of your PC?
     
  3. bakedleaf

    bakedleaf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    25
  4. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    HERE is where you can download the audio driver for the Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1.

    I know you said that have already downloaded the driver, but just making sure you selected the right one.

    ------------------------------------------------------

    Click Start

    In the search bar type devmgmt.msc and hit Enter

    Click the + next to the pane Sound, Video and Game Controllers so it expands, showing all installed hardware.

    Take a screenshot of this window and attach the file in your next post.

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  5. bakedleaf

    bakedleaf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Okay, I used driver sweeper to remove the driver, reinstalled from the one you gave me, no luck.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    According to that screenshot, everything seems to be in working order.

    -----------------------------------------------------

    Go to Control Panel

    Select Sound

    Click the Playback tab (if not selected by default)

    Play something like a Youtube video and see if the bar to the right fills with green boxes.

    Also, make sure your computer's speakers are selected as default and that Windows' volume control is set at 100.

    -----------------------------------------------------

    You can also try connecting headphones to the appropriate port or a different set of speakers.
     
  7. bakedleaf

    bakedleaf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Yeah levels are detected just fine, but there's no sound coming out of my speakers or my headphones (when I plug them in).

    The speakers and headset worked on the onboard audio, so it's not those
     
  8. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    The last suggestion I have would be to make sure the card is as snug as possible in the PCI slot.

    Other than that, I believe I'm all out of ideas. :(

    I hope someone else stops by with some insight.
     
  9. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,380
    First Name:
    Allan
    Check that the onboard sound is disabled in the Bios.
     
  10. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,242
    First Name:
    Cody
    Of course. :rolleyes:

    Can't believe I forgot to check that. :D
     
  11. bakedleaf

    bakedleaf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Yes, I already disabled that as well
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/971673

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice