Cron/Anacron in Linux

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DocTomJP

In Linux I am using cron/anacron to schedule a script to run periodically. It is my first attempt, and it has run successfully for some time.
The script is placed in cron.weekly.
But after I modified the script in a minor way it will not run in cron weekly. It does run OK from the command line.
I see the script in the cron.weekly directory, but despite searching exhaustively I cannot find how to bring up the schedule to check and alter the time
settings.
So two queries :
1. how does one examine and edit the schedule details for a job in cron.weekly?
2. should I move the script again into cron.weekly (i.e. after the small mods. that I made) to try to get it to run in cron.weekly?
(Note - the script has the correct permissions, and no "sh" suffix.)
Thanks in advance for any help.
Tom.

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Please tell us the Linux distro and version you're using and post the old and new scripts and your crontab file.

DocTomJP

Gentlemen, many thanks for your interest in my little problem.
1. The script does work if I run it from the command line. ( Perhaps it was not clear but I did affirm this in my original post.)
2. I am running Debian 10 Buster with the Cinnamon desktop. It is all up to date.
3. I cannot present the old script since I modified it (and then reverted to the original or something closely approximating it) to become the present version.
4. The script (pkgslog) file is.....
-----
#!/bin/sh
#Script for Anacron weekly update of list of installed apps. Sends to /documents/pkglst.txt
set -e
PATH=$PATH:/home/drtjpike/bin
touch /home/drtjpike/Documents/pkglst.txt
truncate -s 0 /home/drtjpike/Documents/pkglst.txt
DT=$(date +%d/%m/%y)
dpkg --get-selections > /home/drtjpike/Documents/pkglst.txt
# > /dev/null 2>&1
---