1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Crysis Failure to load the game dll

Discussion in 'Games' started by B-Subs-Me, Feb 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. B-Subs-Me

    B-Subs-Me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    When I try and launch crysis.exe, I get this message. I've searched the web extensively and haven't found a solution yet. Thanks.
     
  2. Korpiklaani

    Korpiklaani

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Redownload and reinstall, sounds like a corrupted download/install. If that doesn't work give us the exact error message.
     
  3. B-Subs-Me

    B-Subs-Me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    The exact error message is plainly:
    Error
    Failed to load the game DLL!

    I'll try reinstalling and tell you if it works or not.
     
  4. B-Subs-Me

    B-Subs-Me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Reinstalling didn't work.
     
  5. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Did you try installing the latest patch?
     
  6. B-Subs-Me

    B-Subs-Me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Yes. That didn't do anything either.
     
  7. B-Subs-Me

    B-Subs-Me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    173
  8. tom6049

    tom6049

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    So this is a retail version of Crysis with the retail DVD in the drive, correct?
     
  9. B-Subs-Me

    B-Subs-Me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    the retail dvd isnt in the drive. its a long story.
     
  10. Korpiklaani

    Korpiklaani

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Has to be a legal copy or we can't help you
     
  11. tom6049

    tom6049

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    That's what I thought.
     
  12. B-Subs-Me

    B-Subs-Me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    i never said it was illegal.
     
  13. McTimson

    McTimson

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Right, but whatever you're using to circumvent having the DVD in the drive is probably causing the game.dll error. There are many games that use game.dll to check if the game is in the drive, among other things. There's a good chance (not definite) that having the DVD in the drive with the latest real patch installed will work.
     
  14. B-Subs-Me

    B-Subs-Me Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Ah. so, will a bunrt dvd work? The original broke :(
     
  15. Korpiklaani

    Korpiklaani

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Go to EA and i'm sure you can get a replacement CD if you have the CD key and all the information you need. And if you have misplaced this then your only choice is to buy the game again.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/686896