1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CS doesn't work after i did critical update

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Zeferino, Dec 15, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zeferino

    Zeferino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Can anyone give me some ideas on what to do? Here's my situation:

    I was playing Counter Strkie (a half life mod) and was about to shut down my comp when i decided to get the windows critical update patch to see if that would help my comp from freezing on the "Windows is shuttung down" screen (by the way, it didn't help, but i got another fix for it). After i got the up date i shut down. After i while i came back to my computer to play CS again, but it would freeze every time i tried to enter a game. I think this must be because of some kind of conflict with the update patch and half life (no HL games will work). I tried uninstalling HL. I used RegClean to take all of the HL reg entries out. That didn't work. I tried it 2 more times but to no avail. I just tried Doing a reg restore from about 4 days ago. That didn't work. I plum out of ideas and i'm going to reformat my hard drive if i can't find a way to fix this. Someone must have an idea. Can anyone please help me?
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,034
    Hiya

    This could be a problem due to many programs loading up at startup.

    Go to run and type MSINFO32. If you get an error, Programs | accessories | System Tools | System Information

    On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. Copy/paste the list. If you can't, go to File | Save As Text File. Then copy all and paste.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. Zeferino

    Zeferino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    InControl Desktop Manager Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Diamond\InControl Tools 99\DMHKEY.EXE"
    HPAiODevice Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\hp psc 700 series\bin\hpodev07.exe" -DeviceID 1006390138
    Hewlett-Packard Recorder Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\hp psc 700 series\FRU\Remind32.exe"
    MSMSGS Registry (Per-User Run) "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    EM_EXEC Registry (Machine Run) c:\mouse\system\em_exec.exe
    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) c:\windows\taskmon.exe
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    CPQSTUTFIX Registry (Machine Run) C:\Windows\stutfix.exe
    EACLEAN Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Compaq\Easy Access Button Support\eaclean.exe /NORESTART
    CPQEASYACC Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMPAQ\EASY ACCESS BUTTON SUPPORT\Cpqeaui.exe
    AtiCwd32 Registry (Machine Run) Aticwd32.exe
    AtiKey Registry (Machine Run) Atitask.exe
    Compaq Internet Setup Registry (Machine Run) C:\Compaq\Internet\InetWizard.exe /RUN
    Watch Dog Program Registry (Machine Run) C:\COMPAQ\INTERNET\WATCHDOG.EXE
    QuickenSEMessage Registry (Machine Run) C:\QUICKENW\QSEMSG.EXE
    BillMinder Registry (Machine Run) C:\QUICKENW\BILLMIND.EXE
    Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Init Registry (Machine Run) A3dInit.exe
    WorksFUD Registry (Machine Run) c:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\wkfud.exe
    Microsoft Works Portfolio Registry (Machine Run) c:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WksSb.exe /AllUsers
    Microsoft Works Update Detection Registry (Machine Run) c:\Program Files\Microsoft Works\WkDetect.exe
    WinampAgent Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINAMP\WINAMPa.exe"
    HPAIO_PrintFolderMgr Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\hpoopm07.exe
    vptray Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\VPTRAY.EXE
    LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
    CXMon Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\PhotoSmart\Photo Imaging\Hpi_Monitor.exe"
    StillImageMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe
    HC Reminder Registry (Machine Service) hc.exe
    EncMonitor Registry (Machine Service) C:\Program Files\Encompass\Monitor.exe
    ConfigServices Registry (Machine Service)
    Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Registry (Machine Service) sa3dsrv.exe
    rtvscn95 Registry (Machine Service) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\RTVSCN95.EXE
    defwatch Registry (Machine Service) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\DEFWATCH.EXE
    Intel PDS Registry (Machine Service) c:\windows\system\cba\pds.exe
    Intel File Transfer Registry (Machine Service) c:\windows\system\cba\xfr.exe
    TMA Distribution Registry (Machine Service) c:\windows\system\cba\lcfinst.exe
     
  4. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
  5. Zeferino

    Zeferino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Thank you for the reply, TW56. I will check the web site. Hope to hear from eddie soon. thanks for the reply.
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,034
    Now, looking at this list I'm trying to find the word....I know, ARRRGGHH :p

    Its okay, here we go:

    InControl Desktop Manager: For Diamond Multimedia video cards. Allows System Tray access to desktop utilities such as screen resolution. Available via Start -> Programs - not required

    HPAiODevice: Related to a HP OfficeJet G Series all-in-one devices - can sometimes cause slow boot-up/shutdown problems. What is it for though? maybe.

    Hewlett-Packard Recorder: ??

    MSMSGS: MSN Messenger utility starts up automatically every time you start Windows. If you don't use MSN Messenger, this can be annoying. Available via Start -> Programs - not required. Need to delete a registy key relating to msmmsge.exe if you disable it

    EM_EXEC: Logitech Mouseware driver. Needed to support some additional functionality of Logitech mice/trackballs

    ScanRegistry: keep

    TaskMonitor: The Task Monitor the disk-access patterns of programs when they are started and stores this information in log files in the Applog folder. Task Monitor also records the number of times you use a program. The Disk Defragmenter tool uses this information to optimize your hard disk so that programs that you use frequently are loaded faster. Not required - but can be useful

    SystemTray: keep

    LoadPowerProfile: Power management specifics such as monitor shut-off, system standby, etc. keep

    CPQSTUTFIX: For Compaq PC's. Cures problems with sound stutter

    EACLEAN: For Compaq PC's. Easy Access button support for the keyboard. Not required if you don't use these buttons

    CPQEASYACC: For Compaq PC's. Keyboard button support. Not required if you don't use these buttons

    AtiCwd32: Part of a driver enhancement for ATI video cards. May not be needed, try it and see

    Compaq Internet Setup: For Compaq PC's. Runs Compaq internet setup wizard and offers you to signup from ISP list. Not required

    Watch Dog Program: For Compaq PC's. Associated with Compaq's internet services. Not required if you don't use services provided by them and may not be required even if you do

    QuickenSEMessage: Quicken option. Not required

    BillMinder: Can be setup in Quicken to remind user of due payments. Available via Start -> Programs - not required

    Aureal A3D Interactive Audio Init: For Aureal based 3D soundcards. A3D sound features won't work with this disabled

    WorksFUD: A marketing program for Microsoft Works. Not required

    Microsoft Works Portfolio: The Works Portfolio tool lets you collect and organize text and pictures from the Web or your favorite program. The Works Portfolio provides a location where you can store items you want to later put into a document or other file. Not required

    Microsoft Works Update Detection: Checks for updates to MS Works. Not required

    WinampAgent: System Tray application that starts up WinAmp media player. Not required - can be started manually from Start -> Programs

    HPAIO_PrintFolderMgr: Related to a HP OfficeJet G Series all-in-one devices - can sometimes cause slow boot-up/shutdown problems. What is it for though? Maybe

    vptray: System Tray icon for Norton Anti-Virus Corporate Edition. Gives access to the options available and may not be required. Some users may have problems

    LoadQMP: Loads the MSN Explorer Query Manager - a waste of resources and bandwidth. Also installed by the latest version of MSN Messenger. Not required

    CXMon: Related to HP PhotoSmart Photo Imaging but what does it do and is it needed?

    StillImageMonitor: If your scanner does not have a button to initiate scanning you kill stimon. Even if it does have a button, you can still manually launch the scanning application. If unavailable via Start -> Programs

    SchedulingAgent: Microsoft Scheduling Agent displayed as a box with a stopwatch in the System Tray - only needed if you have regular scheduled disk defragmenting, ScanDisk, etc. Recommend you run these at regular intervals anyway so not needed as they can interrupt other programs

    HC Reminder: For Compaq PC's. Help Compiler, crunches help database, will run without being in startup when needed. Not required

    EncMonitor: The Encompass Monitor. This program is the Connect Direct Program. It is more trouble than it is worth and few use it. Not required

    rtvscn95: Real-time virus scanner component of Norton Anti-Virus Corporate Edition

    defwatch: Detects out-of-date virus definitions for Norton Anti-Virus Corporate Editionand runs the Defwatch Wizard. Only required if you don't update the virus definitions manually on a regular basis

    Intel PDS: Intel Ping Discovery Service (PDS). Part of Intel's LANDesk Management Suite 6 and the Common Base Agent (CBA) - used for communicating between the core server and managed clients. Will start the dial-up if installed and enabled

    Intel File Transfer: Part of Intel's LANDesk Management Suite 6 and the Common Base Agent (CBA) - used for communicating between the core server and managed clients

    TMA Distribution: Part of Intel's LANDesk Management Suite 6 and the Common Base Agent (CBA) - used for communicating between the core server and managed clients

    phew!!!

    Okay, for the ones that you don't want go to Run and type MSCONFIG. Startup tab. Uncheck all you don't want, apply and restart. If you're unsure, do them seperately, but apply and restart after each one.

    Thanks, TW56, for popping in.


    Regards

    eddie
     
  7. Zeferino

    Zeferino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Well, well, well.... your fingers must hurt because of the length of that list. Thanks so much for the help with my startup stuff... My computer starts about 902309529752807509487% faster now.... but, as for counter strike and half life games all together, still no dice. Any other suggestions? Oh, and before i got your first reply i tried un-installing half life and doing a reg restore from like 3 days ago and got an error then 2 days and got an error. This problem only started last night so that's why i tried that approach. but that didn't work either. I just didn't want you to suggest something that i'd already tried. I don't want to waste any more of your time than i have to. But, like i said, half life still doesn't want me to go into any games so i'm stuck. Any other ideas? I'll be glad to hear them. thank you

    P.S. I ended up removing TWENTY ONE files from startup. =0)
     
  8. Zeferino

    Zeferino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Oh, by the way. This has ahppened to me before. One time when i installed new sound drivers it screwed up all of my games, including half life. The only way i could find to fix it was to reformat. I don't want to do that again. And for future reference, i tried Quake III and it's not working either. Thanks again for any help you can offer.

    SYSTEM IS:
    ________

    :mad: Compaq Presario 5600 :mad:

    Pentium II 350

    384 mb SDRAM PC 133

    Diamond viper v550 video card (PCI)

    Onboard Maestro sound

    Onboard 10/T network card (for cable modem)

    that's about it. lol hope this helps you.
     
  9. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
    Hi Zeferino,
    I tend yo agree with Eddie, ARRRGGH! I hope that web site and eddie's suggestions help! I personally have 6 items checked in my startup! But to each his own!
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,034
    Hiya

    Of all the things that you forgot to post and that was your OS. Which is it? Also, what version of CS are you playing? There are some patches available.

    Also, can you remember what you downloaded from Microsoft, as in the update?

    There are updates for your video driver:

    http://www.diamondmm.com/default.as...gacy_Graphics&item=drivers&product=Viper_V550

    But lets see if you already have the latest version. Go to Control panel | System. Device manager. Look under Display. Expand using + and then rightclick and choose properties. Driver tab. Look at the version number and see if its older than the ones at the above site.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  11. Zeferino

    Zeferino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Sorry about that. I'm running Win 98. (not se or anything) I do have ME and if that would help let me know by all means, but i'm on 98 right now. I Have all of the latest updates and patches for halflife and counter strike. I have the latest drivers for my video card. It's letting me choose an internet game, but when i click "Join Game" it goes to the screen like it connecting and freezes solid. But it's letting me see a list of servers so i'm pretty sure (correct me if i'm wrong) that it doesn't think i have an old version. I'm on version 1.3 of CS and have HL updated to 1.0.0.8. I'm totally stumpped. if you have any ideas, lmk. thanks so much.
     
  12. Zeferino

    Zeferino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    Oh, i'm sorry. I forgot to add that it was just the critical update patch that it detected for my computer from windowsupdate.com. The files were (as posted by Windows Update):
    Windows Share Level Password Update - version 4,10,0,2222 - was successfully installed.
    10:38:05 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 4316

    Security Update, November 20, 2001 - version 6,4,9,1121 - was successfully installed.
    10:38:14 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 5083

    Security Update, August 2, 2001 - version 5,0,3802,0 - was successfully installed.
    10:38:21 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 3851

    Security Update, May 19, 2000 - version 4,10,0,2222 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:09 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 3669

    Security Update, March 17, 2000 - version 1,0,0,0 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:13 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 3594

    Security Update, April 2, 2001 - version 1,0,2195,0 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:17 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 4500

    Security Update, January 17, 2000 - version 4,10,0,2222 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:20 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 3385

    Security Update 2, November 29, 1999 - version 4,10,0,1998 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:21 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 3343

    Security Update 1, November 29, 1999 - version 4,10,0,1998 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:25 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 3339

    Security Update, November 12, 1999 - version 4,10,0,2222 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:30 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 3306

    Critical Update, September 10, 1999 - version 2,0,0,0 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:35 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 771

    Security Update, September 9, 1999 - version 4,10,0,2222 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:47 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 3164

    Critical Update, January 25, 1999 - version 4,10,0,2001 - was successfully installed.
    10:39:59 PM Friday, December 14, 2001 : 774



    There is also a new critical update available for me to download but i don't know if i should. THe description is right here:

    Critical Updates Package
    5841 KB/ Download Time: 48 min
    Download the Critical Updates Package to ensure the trouble-free operation of your computer, and to protect your computer from security vulnerabilities. The package appears whenever there are critical updates available. When you install items from Windows Update, the contents of the package are modified accordingly. Download now to update your computer in one easy step.


    There ya go, hope that helps you find a cure =0)
     
  13. Linkmaster

    Linkmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,872
    Hi Zeferino,
    My opinion is that I would not get that one. It sounds like an automatic update. I personally dont like something that runs continuously . That is what it sounds like to me. Someone else may have a different opinion though.
     
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,034
    I agree with TW56. I don't have it installed on mine. I have 2000 and keep an eye on it manually by using Windows Update facility off Start.

    So, its just the main server site that the problem is with. Do you have a firewall? I don't think you do, as its not in the startup list :p

    Does this happen with all games at the site? Having never been, I'm assuming that its got many games going on at once.

    eddie
     
  15. Zeferino

    Zeferino Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    24
    it's not a site a site that hosts a lot of games or anything, it's a standalone game that you open then download a list of servers to and enter a game. This happens with all the games on my computer, though. All except for minesweeper and hearts, lol. Ok. I won't get that update, and no, i don't have a firewall. I'm not haveing a problem with the main server site, i don't think. I'm pretty sure it's a problem with the game because it happens on any server i try to use. maybe it is a problem with it though, i don't know. but it won't even let me enter any single player games. I can click "New Game" then click "Easy" or whatever, but then it freezez when trying to load the game. :( I don't know wah to do. Thanks for anymore help you might offer.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61866

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice