1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

CSV Files

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by imtiaz107e6, Apr 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. imtiaz107e6

imtiaz107e6 Thread Starter

Hi!

I don't know whether this is the correct forum, but hope somebody can help.

I have about 220 separate CSV files of different companies stock historical data as follows:

date,open,high,low,close,volume

I download the daily End Of Day data in CSV which has the following:

Company Name,date,open,high,low,close,volume

Is there a way the daily company quotes can be updated automatically to each individual company's file?

I have no programming experience.

Any help will be appreciated.

Tks in advance.

2. OBP

OBP

What program are you using to collate the data?

3. imtiaz107e6

Right now I use a software called winmerge where I open the EOD data in one pane and open the individual company file, one at a time in another pane, then copy and paste the info.

rgds

4. OBP

OBP

Sorry I don't have any experience with winmerge. I am surprised that you are not Excel or Access to do this.
    I would suggest that you create a new Thread with winmerge in the title to attract anyone with knowledge of it.
    Or if possible add it to the Title of this thread.

5. Keebellah

Keebellah Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Hans
    Hi,
    I use the code I have added to the attached file to read my csv files.
    The code I found on different sites and have editted some parts myself.
    You will still have to add some code of your own to specify the file type, separator to read it, but the import part will read any file for you.