1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ctrl+alt+delete

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by arty62, Jan 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Problem is that c+a+d only works part time...there seems to be no rhyme or reason as to why...just that sometimes it's not there to get out of freeze up...is there anything I can do to check it out or repair?
     
  2. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi arty62

    Sometimes when you get a "Total freeze" the only option is to switch the power off - you need to find the cause of the freeze and rectify it - a few details about what you are doing when it freezes may help us to sort it out for you - it may be spyware or a virus - something easy to sort out - and then again it might not.

    If you post your startup list we may be able to spot something

    Please post your startup list by doing the following :-

    Please go here and download startuplist 1.51 :-

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/startuplist151.zip

    Download to any folder or your desktop
    Unzip the zipfile
    Double click the exe file
    go to Edit - select all - copy - and paste the results in a new post here


    steam
     
  3. brendandonhu

    brendandonhu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    14,681
    Run startuplist 1.5 from http://lurkhere.com/~nicefiles and post the list it produces.
    Sounds like you may have a virus/keylogger that is killing those keys.
     
  4. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    StartupList report, 1/20/03, 12:09:48 PM
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v5.51 SP2 (5.51.4807.2300)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\MICROSOFT HARDWARE\MOUSE\POINT32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANDA SOFTWARE\PANDA ANTIVIRUS PLATINUM\APVXDWIN.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANDA SOFTWARE\PANDA ANTIVIRUS PLATINUM\FIREWALL\PAVFIRES.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\PANDA SOFTWARE\PANDA ANTIVIRUS PLATINUM\PAVPROXY.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINTV\WINTV2K.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\UNZIPPED\STARTUPLIST151\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    ScanRegistry = C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    POINTER = point32.exe
    SCANINICIO = "C:\Program Files\Panda Software\Panda Antivirus Platinum\Inicio.exe"
    APVXDWIN = "C:\Program Files\Panda Software\Panda Antivirus Platinum\APVXDWIN.EXE" /s

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    PAVFIRES = C:\Program Files\Panda Software\Panda Antivirus Platinum\Firewall\PavFires.exe

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.INI listing:
    (Created 20/1/2003, 6:29:4)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\_iu14D2N.tmp

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 18/1/2003, 17:35:0)

    [rename]
    NUL=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ImageDrive.cpl

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    SET BLASTER=A240 I2 D1 H7 P330 T6
    SET CTSYN=C:\WINDOWS
    C:\PROGRA~1\CREATIVE\SBLIVE\DOSDRV\SBEINIT.COM
    SET PATH=C:\PROGRA~1\PANDAS~1\PANDAA~1;%PATH%

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Browser Helper Objects:

    (no name) - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX (file missing) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3}
    Yahoo! Companion BHO - C:\PROGRAM FILES\YAHOO!\COMPANION\YCOMP5_0_2_3.DLL - {13F537F0-AF09-11d6-9029-0002B31F9E59}

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Task Scheduler jobs:

    Tune-up Application Start.job

    --------------------------------------------------

    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [CV3 Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WUV3IS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/R1108/V31Controls/x86/w98/en/actsetup.cab

    [Register Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\HWUTILS.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://content.hiwirenetworks.net/inbrowser/cabfiles/2.5.19/Hiwire.cab

    [Live365Player Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PLAY365.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.live365.com/players/play365.cab

    [YInstStarter Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\YINSTHELPER.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab

    [CCMPGui Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CCMP392.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://64.124.45.181/chaincast/proxy/CCMP.cab

    [sys Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPITSTOP.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/PCPitStop.CAB

    [iCC Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\PCPCONNCHECK.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/pcpConnCheck.cab

    [ActiveScan Installer Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\ASINST.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pandasoftware.es/activescan/as/asinst.cab

    [{11111111-1111-1111-1111-111111111111}]
    CODEBASE = http://207.246.124.105/cabs/ROOSTER3001/TPS108.cab

    [Update Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IUCTL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?37618.3122916667

    [QDiagHUpdateObj Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QDIAGH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://h30043.www3.hp.com/dj/qdiagh.cab?223

    [DiskHealth Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\CONFLICT.1\DISKHEALTH.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/diskhealth.cab

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,315 bytes
    Report generated in 0.080 seconds

    Command line options:
    /verbose - to add additional info on each section
    /complete - to include empty sections and unsuspicious data
    /full - to include several rarely-important sections
    /force9x - to include Win9x-only startups even if running on WinNT
    /forcent - to include WinNT-only startups even if running on Win9x
    /forceall - to include all Win9x and WinNT startups, regardless of platform
    /history - to list version history only
     
  5. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    arty62

    I see nothing in your startup that could be causing you problems - all I can suggest is a general cleanup

    Delete temp, temporary internet files, history, cookies ( you will have to re-log in to sites which use passwords )

    Please Download and install SpyBot,

    http://www.lurkhere.com/~nicefiles/spybot14.exe

    click the online tab to search for and download the updates, then shut down and relaunch SpyBot.

    Go to the Settings tab > File Sets, and uncheck 'System Internals' and 'Tracks' .
    These aren't needed for our present purpose, and you can always experiment with them later on.

    Finally, after closing down Internet Explorer, click 'Check for problems', and have SpyBot remove all it finds 'Fix selected problems'

    you may have to run spybot more than once to clear everything

    Remove everything pre-ticked in Red

    steam
     
  6. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Thanks for help steam...you up early/late this am?...have already done all of above, prob persists....agree that spybot a great program!!....any further suggestions appreciated....rt
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Start button, run, then type msconfig and ok....uncheck the process autoexec.bat and config.sys boxes, restart and see if you still have the same problem.
     
  8. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    tried it...no difference....scandisk frooze up, c-a-d not functioning....

    (btw...items in process ini....sb emulator...what is?
    himem mgr}
     
  9. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi arty62

    I assume you can reboot and then use your computer for a while - including Ctrl-Alt-Del before it freezes ?

    First of all - always run scandisk before defrag or you could end up in trouble

    Close all programs using Ctrl-Alt-Del except "systray" and "explorer"

    turn off your screensaver

    disable your anti-virus

    Then run scandisk first

    Then run defrag

    If it still wont complete do it in safemode

    steam
     
  10. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    alright steam...ran scandisk (took 3 tries)....did defrag.....tried scandisk....froze....c-a-d not functioning....could this be related?
     
  11. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    Hi arty62

    Correct me if this is not what you did

    ran scandisk - it restarted 3 times - but then completed

    ran defrag and it completed

    ran scandisk again - everything froze

    and you did all this in less than 20 minutes ?

    How big is the h/d - I wouldn't have thought it possible to complete a defrag so quickly

    when exactly does it freeze ? - when you use a particular program ?- if so which ones ?

    Is it after a certain amount of time ? - it could be the cpu overheating

    try and tell us exactly what you are doing when it freezes

    It could be so many things - the more we can picture your computer at the time this is happening - the more suggestions we can make

    steam
     
  12. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Q&A:
    1)
    scandisk didnt start 3 times, took me 3 tries to get it going.
    yet, scanned and defragged...use voptme for defrag....had done earlier today so was fast.
    2) yes...went back to scandisk and machine froze at scandisk screen....c-a-d not functioning
    cpu/system temp 78deg F HD=30gb, 16 free
    3)Latest freezes occurred onwebsite, at scandisk screen(often) and once on this site (tips&tricks) c-a-d not functioning

    freeze ups kinda random...
     
  13. steamwiz

    steamwiz

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Messages:
    2,773
    found this on the net under "Scandisk keeps freezing."

    Possible solution: Run scandisk in windows mode - twice.

    1. The first scan select Advanced and check "Copy cross-linked files" - this will create separate clean copies of any that exist, without the conflict.

    2. Now repeat the scan, but this time under Advanced, check "Delete cross-linked files" - this will remove the affected original cross-linked files.

    --------------------------------
    You might also want to try a "thorough" scandisk instead of just a "standard"

    I realise this is asking you to do things with the very thing which is not working - but I'm afraid it's all I can come up with at the moment

    I have to get of the net in a few minutes - so I wish you good luck


    steam
     
  14. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Steam....did as directed...opened whole new hill of beans....have to leave for a while...will get back later to fill you in....thanks....rt
     
  15. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Steam...tried above without joy....even did in safe mode...no change....scandisk freezes often. Have searched high and low, but no solutions in sight....BUT I can live with it....I would really like to have my ctrl+alt+delete back full time!!!....Willing to pursue any and all suggestions....thanks....rt
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114289

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice