1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Currency Symbols

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Tarq, Sep 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    There are some currency symbols I'd like to use in Paint yet I can't set them up in IE because they are squares and they aren't in character map. How can I update character map or copy/paste them in to Paint? Have a look below to see which ones I can see...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    Could you move the whole panel into paint and then cut just the symbol out and paste? I've not tried it, but it's a thought.

    Edit. I couldn't get that to work. Sorry. But will this page help? Or this one?
     
  3. Corrosive

    Corrosive

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,058
    I don't really know where the "Web and Email" link comes in here, but I'll let the moderators decide that if they stumble in here.

    Anyway, I think the currency symbols are dependant on the font used. Arial should have the appropriate currency symbols, as would Verdana, Times New Roman etc. If you are using a slightly more estoric font, it may not have the appropriate characters.

    Apart from that, I havn't a clue. Sorry mate. :(

    PS: What exactly are you needing this for anyway? There may be other resources you could turn to.
     
  4. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    I can't screenprint because I don't have the characters they are just squares and on the unicode one they are too small.

    I am using Arial. I am creating a graphic for use within a flash intro to a website.

    I need EU currencies. I already have pound £ and french franc and spanish peseta and italian lira and german mark because thats just DM. I need drachma and any other symbols that may have existed before the euro.
     
  5. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    Can I ask why you just don't use charmap and copy and paste from there?

    (Start | Run | Type in Charmap)
     
  6. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    Can I ask why you didn't read my original post?
     
  7. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    They are in the character map Tarq, you may actually have to change font but on symbols makes little difference
     
  8. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    I have changed it to symbol and couldn't find the ones I wanted there were less there than there were in Arial. Please can you show me a screen print of the drachma symbol in your character map? I apologise for being offhand in my previous post.
     
  9. beefy

    beefy

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    441
  10. Tarq

    Tarq Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    OK Thanks.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/167640

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice