Custom making a computer > Having difficulties

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Citron

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
4
I bought a Pentium 4 Processor, with a brand new motherboard specifically designed for Pentium 4 processors. So i came home all ready to install my new computer only to find out that i have a PCI Video card, ATI Rage 128 which isn't supported. So i had to run out and buy a 100$ GeForce 4 card (AGP)

Now i installed everything, and find out that my old ram (in my old mother board) isn't fitting the ram slots in the new mobo.

I believe there are 2 types of ram, and i just have the opposite ram that i need, when i installed everything, and turned on the computer, everything seemed to be running, only the screen didn't turn on. The CD-ROM was running, the computer sounded like it was starting up, everything seemed right, but the monitor didn't turn on. I think its the ram, is THIS the reason why it isn't starting? or could it be something else... :(

Thanks for any help in advance.. nice forums you have here.
Thanks for reading :)

-Mike
 

pyritechips

Jim
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
<img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=700042">

Hello!

Did you manage to get the correct RAM?

Also: when the computer tries to start does it attempt to POST? Do you get any beeps, and if so, what is the sequence: how many long and/or short beeps?

Can you also please specify the exact board model and number?
 

Attachments

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Sounds like you didn't get the correct RAM and install it.
Are you trying to start your computer with no RAM??
 

Citron

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
4
YES, im attempted to run it with NO RAM because the ram in my old Motherboard did not fit. I need the other kind, i know theres 2....

My 'new' motherboard= "Intel 845E Chipset Based 845E Max" (designed for Pentium 4 processors) and thats what i have. P4 processor.

Tommarrow i am getting the right kind of ram and am going to try it. Will it work? :)

Ty for the warm welcome.

-Mike
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Me thinks you get the right RAM tomorrow and install it, then try your puter. Think you'll be amazed at the difference.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2001
Messages
1,869
Going with Del, You cannot start the machine without ram. There are more than 2 types, ensure you are getting the correct type. Once you install it, your problem will probably be solved. If you know the motherboard info, www.crucial.com is a great place to check the correct type of ram. several manufacturers use the 845e chipset in the motherboards. PROBABLY pc 2100 or pc 2700 ram is used.

SeeYa
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top