1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

customize start menu

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by semajjames, Nov 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    where in the start menu " start program when windows starts" folder so i can make apps start when i log on


    cheers
     
  2. Ent

    Ent Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,467
    First Name:
    Josiah
    Start
    All Programs
    Startup

    Right click on it and choose "Open".
    You can then create a shortcut to your App (don't move the app itself) into that folder.
     
  3. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    ok thats great thanks

    now what i have done is added two internet favs to that folder

    but what is happening is

    two browsers are opening one fav in each

    what i wanted was only one browser to open with two tabs one for each fav

    is this possable

    cheers
     
  4. Ent

    Ent Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,467
    First Name:
    Josiah
    If you open a link to a website when the browser is open it will open it in a new tab. However if the browser isn't open yet, it creates a new window. Because your computer is trying to open the two links at the same time, the browser doesn't have time to open in between and so you get two windows.

    If you're using firefox, you could set the two tabs you're interested in as your home page (yes, firefox lets you have multiple home pages) and have the links simply start firefox. The downside of that would be that every time you open the browser you get those sites opening, which may not be desirable.

    A second option would be to create a short script (bat, vbs, etc) which opens the first site, waits for a few seconds to let the browser open, and then opens the remaining sites. Obviously the script would then be put in the startup folder.
     
  5. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    ok thanks

    there is now way that i can create a script so where would i get such a script or what would it be called so i could possably get the script and add my sites to it

    cheers
     
  6. Ent

    Ent Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,467
    First Name:
    Josiah
    It should be a relatively simple task; I'll see if I can make one for you.
     
  7. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    most helpfull thanks
     
  8. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    hang on
     
  9. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    i just seen that i can add more that one home page ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
     
  10. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    having said that this is now giving me the first option you mentioned ,,,, and it would be good to have the second option also

    thanks
     
  11. Ent

    Ent Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,467
    First Name:
    Josiah
    The following batch script might do it for you. It isn't actually a very good solution, so I'll think about how to make it with another language if you want to use that technique.

    Code:
    @echo off
    start www.techguy.org
    ping 0.0.0.0 > nul
    start www.google.com
    
    Obviously replace techguy and google with the sites you want.
     
  12. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    ok thanks

    and i asume i put it on a note pad and put in startup folder


    if so what do i name the note pad ??
     
  13. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    and yes i would rather use this option because like you say adding lots of home pages would lead to a full browser when i open new browser
     
  14. Ent

    Ent Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,467
    First Name:
    Josiah
    It doesn't matter so long as the extension is .bat
    For example: webopen.bat
     
  15. semajjames

    semajjames Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    ok

    yes that code method is better
    however it is only opening one tab containing google and not 2 tabs google and techguy
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026535

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice