1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

D-Link Broadband Router & PC Card - For digital hook-up

Discussion in 'Networking' started by butterbloom, Dec 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. butterbloom

    butterbloom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    I am running road runner digital on my desktop. I am trying to hook-up to the internet on my laptop.

    I have a D-Link DI-713P Wireless Broadband Router and
    a D-Link DWL-650 Wireless PC Card.

    In my desktop I am running Windows 98.
    In the laptop, Windows XP.

    I seem to have the connections hooked up correctly for the desktop. The laptop, I've done as much as I know to do but still
    no internet connection.

    Okay, I'm about to pull my hair and anyone else's who comes near me.

    Hope you can help.
     
  2. butterbloom

    butterbloom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    I'm still trying to figure out my Broadband Router and PC Card problemo. In the configuration utility:

    I am troubleshooting the laptop PC Card..... It tells me to check that the SSID "name" is the same as that of the Access Point.

    It says: "Check that the Network mode is set properly to "infrastucture" mode when there is an Access Point in the network<i>I'm clueless about this</i>. Otherwise, the mode should be set to Ad Hoc.

    Okay, it displays the name of the screen as "default" with no other options.

    The Mode displays "Infrastructure" and the other options are:
    802.11 AdHoc or
    AdHoc
     
  3. brianF

    brianF

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1999
    Messages:
    12,041
    moving to networking, you may get a better reply there
     
  4. butterbloom

    butterbloom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks for the correction.
     
  5. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    Have you downloaded the latest drivers from Dlink? The ones that come with it, don't work very well with XP.

    ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Wireless/DWL650/Driver/dwl650_XP_driver_51f.exe

    Also, check out this link

    http://support.dlink.com/faq/results.asp?question=DWL-650

    http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DWL-650

    This link describes adhoc and infrastructure. You broadband router is an access point, so I believe that you need to set the card to infrastructure.

    http://www.dlink.com/tech/faq/wireless/dwl650/
     
  6. butterbloom

    butterbloom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    I did see that I needed to change AdHoc to Infrastructure. I have now changed that.

    Here is what I'm getting from my DeskTop: "Wireless network Adapter not detected. Inser the D-Link Air Wirless Adapter and restart the configuration utility.

    On the Laptop: " Local Area connection Intel (R) Pro/100VE Network Connection" - NOT connected.

    On my router the WLAN light is not on.

    I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong.

    DLink Tech Support Stinks! I appreciate your help.
     
  7. butterbloom

    butterbloom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    36
    To all of you who tried to help me with my problem. Thank you!

    After a week of messing with the problem, I finally got D-Link Tech
    Support to tell me that the router was DEFECTIVE!!!!

    After I exchanged the router for another, viola!....Internet!

    D-Link has a toll-free number which they do not publish in their manual and I had to email them and blast them about not having one before they kindly coughed it up!

    One thing I have learned from this episode is, if a first you don't succeed....call tech support!

    It would have saved me countless hours and aggravation had I of done so.
    ----------

    ~~~May your flies be butterflies~~~Butterbloom
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63393

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice