D-Link DI-614+ Dog Slow!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JohnWill

Thread Starter
Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I just picked up a D-Link DI-614+, mostly to tinker with, and perhaps eventually give to my daughter for wireless access for her place. I currently have an SMC7004AWBR wireless router.

My cable service is 1500/256, and I have a Toshiba PCX1100U cable modem.

The problem is that the D-Link is painfully slow on the downlink side for some reason! At DSL-Reports, I normally get in the 1200-1500 range for my downlink speeds, which is what I'd expect with my cable service. The D-Link yields about 50-100k downlink speeds, and it actually runs the uplink faster at 150-200k. I've cruised through all the setup options in the D-Link, and I don't see anything that jumps out at me to kill the performance. I have the latest 3.20 firmware in the unit.

Does anyone here have this router, and what have your results been?
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
36
hmm, does the wireless connection manager show connecting at:

22Mbps
11Mbps
5.5Mbps
2Mbps
1Mbps
 

JohnWill

Thread Starter
Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I'm not using the wireless, I currently have it disabled. This is on a wired connection, it's actually a WAN issue, I just don't know what is going on. :)
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2003
Messages
724
This is wierd. I don't know ANYTHING about that router, but never heard of getting better upload than download :)

Just for fun, can you set the port forwarding on the router? Have it send all ports to the IP of the specific local machine?

Probably useless, but I'd like to see what happens.

Good luck on this one :D
 

JohnWill

Thread Starter
Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I've put the router back in the closet for now, need to be able to use the Internet at full speed. :D

The funny thing is, I currently have several other routers here that I can try, and only the D-Link has this issue. Their tech support was no help, but that's no surprise. :)
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
Messages
235
Originally posted by johnwill:
I've put the router back in the closet for now, need to be able to use the Internet at full speed. :D

The funny thing is, I currently have several other routers here that I can try, and only the D-Link has this issue. Their tech support was no help, but that's no surprise. :)


Why put it in the closet? I say get your money back!
 

JohnWill

Thread Starter
Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,418
I still want to get it running, and I've already sent in all the rebates, so it's missing the UPC code. :) Since I have a total of $15 invested into it, I'll keep working the issue. I'm going to take it to a friend's house and try it on his Motorola cable modem and see if it acts differently.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2003
Messages
235
Well sometimes they just don't work!
Exchange it let 'em keep the new box. I know two people that have had new out of the box Linksys routers that were defective.
:D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top