Dark Monitor and can't fix.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Milo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
8
My monitor has been fairly dark for some time. I even just upgraded with almost entirly new parts, and it's still the same. My Gamma and Contrast are all the way up, and I can still hardly see darker images. Is there anything I can do about this? Thanks for any help.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Actually I would try another monitor first, does it correct the problem.

You have adjust the contrast, etc where. On the monitor controls or under your display settings. a lot of video cards have options in the display properties, settings, advanced to control brightness
 

Milo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
8
Getting a new monitor isn't an option for me, and there are no settings in the Display Panel for that (I've looked). I was hoping for some kind of program that I could download which would let me do that, but I guess there isn't one.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Well it would be a program that works in conjunction with your video card, not your monitor. What type of video card do you have.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
Sorry should have asked, what operating system are you running.
Not sure if I can find anything that works with sys but will try
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1999
Messages
12,041
I'm running into a road block on the sis chip, do you have this utility described here

In windows 98 with the sis utility /sistray/ i could change the brightness in my display settings. Now i'm using windows 2000 with directx 8.1 with the sistray/utility and i cant find where to turn up my brightness/gamma. Some games are way to dark to play and dont have a brightness setting in the game itself . please help.
SiS technician's response
I did test the problem with SIS630/730 2.04.50 version under Win2000, but I didn't find the problem you described. Please tell us which SIS630/730 version did you use? Or could you provide us more details about your problem.
 

Milo

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2002
Messages
8
I'm running Windows XP, and I saw that response on their Tech Support (They're morons there... look at my other questions there ;)) I can't find the Sis utility things, I've looked, and all I can find is Icons that have to do with Gamma things.
 

ack

Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Messages
9
I'm having the same problem with my monitor, except it happened just this afternoon. It was fine in the morning, I went out, leaving the monitor on, but screensaver operational, and when I reactivated, everything was dark.

I guess that's not much help, but someone else is keeping an eye on this exchange, fyi. My monitor is only 6 mos. old. It's definitely not high-end, but it shouldn't be acting up yet.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top