Data Recovery Questions...Dell

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

stingerash

Hi everyone, I was looking for some help to answer a few somewhat basic questions. I have read around looking before posting but I was just hoping to get some more direct answers. I have a Dell Inspirion 1525 laptop that the harddrive went dead in. I dont have too much on the computer and I know I should have backed it up :( I only really need the pictures on it, which isn't too many, maybe around 400? I would like some other things, but their really not necessary. Anyhow, can someone tell me the easiest way to do all this. I know I need to purchase a new harddrive (obviously haha) but that comes last i suppose. I know I can retrieve through blank cd's. I have some knowledge of computers but pretty basic and I started reading into that option (ubuntu) but it seemed somewhat hard and complicated...Is this true? I know I could take it somewhere, but since I dont have much money right now, and dont need that much from it, was hoping I could just do it myself. I know I can buy an external hard drive and use that, but since i already have to buy another hard drive, that would just be more money, although i guess for many its worth it... any ideas on the price? Are there any other options I have is my main question? I do have a desktop computer, but its really really old and I dont think there is any memory left on it. I have 2 other laptops in my household (not mine).