1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

data retrieval from slave hard drive

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by penny54, Jan 23, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. penny54

penny54 Thread Starter

I have a Western Digital master drive. I found it necessary to reformat this drive and again install WINDOWS98SE. I have a Maxtor slave drive previously partitioned into 2 partitions. Before the reformat of C, I moved important doc and pic files to the slave drive. Now I cannot access either of the partitions on the slave drive. Is this possible or have I messed up big time?

2. ~Candy~

~Candy~ Retired Administrator

Hi penny54, welcome to TSG.

Do you know if you had installed EZ-Bios on the Maxtor drive?

In your bios setup, do you have the option of booting to that drive?

Are both drives showing up in the bios?

Where are you trying to access the Maxtor drive from? And are you getting an error message? Does it show up in "my computer?"

3. penny54

penny54 Thread Starter

No, EZ Bios is not on either drive.

Both physcal drives are identified in BIOS.

I do not know how to boot to the Maxtor. Nor do I know how to check BIOS for that information. It has no OS installed (or never DID have, anyway)

I have tried to get to the Maxtor by:
    a) My computer
    b) DOS prompt

I keep getting the error message (when trying to access the Maxtor drive) that the drive is not formatted and do I want to format it now. I have always answered "no" to this question as I know this will wipe all that I want to retrieve.

4. esdxc37

esdxc37

try booting into dos using the windows start up disk

once ther fdisk<>choose the option to change fixed drive<>choose show partion info

are both partitions shown there?

5. ~Candy~