1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Database driven website inquiry

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by inspired78, Apr 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. inspired78

inspired78 Thread Starter

Hi!

I'm developing a website that is very database driven but I'm not sure what to use....php, asp, mysql, excel...etc? I have a lot of experience developing front end websites, so this back end database thing is all new to me!

The main website features will be:

- login feature & members area (storing members details in database)
    - storing members contact info (eg. email) so I can contact them with reminders automatically
    - rating system
    - search system

Any ideas please? Any good tutorials on how to implement these features?

Thank you!

2. Grob needs help

Grob needs help

i would recommend using php and mysql there are good tutorials on http://www.w3schools.org and if there is any other problems just ask Google for code it will most likely have all you need. else ask here

3. omuyelijah

omuyelijah

Hi,

You can google DATABASE DRIVEN WEBSITE (WITH PHP/MYSQL) by Kevin Yank. Its a good book. Just follow the link.

4. inspired78

inspired78 Thread Starter

Aw thank you!

Is it particularly easy to do a database driven website like the one I described above?

5. tomdkat

tomdkat Retired Trusted Advisor

If you design things well, it should be pretty easy to setup and get working.

Peace...

6. ehymel

ehymel

7. lordsmurf

lordsmurf

I used to like Coldfusion for this, back in the day.
    I used pre-made CMS now (WordPress, Magento, vBulletin, etc) -- not much interest in "from scratch" programming now.

8. olddirtret

olddirtret

9. lordsmurf

lordsmurf