1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Date Macro for Outlook 2003

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by jbl366, Oct 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jbl366

jbl366 Thread Starter

Hi there,

I am trying to get a macro for Outlook 2003 that when I compose a new email in Outlook 2003, the date will appear in the subject line automatically in the following format:
    20101009-
    I have tried looking into it in Outlook but it says that macros will not work in Outlook and I have to do in in VB Editor. Unfortunately I am a complete novice (or noob as my son would call me) with VB Editor.
    Would anyone be able to help me out please?

:confused:

2. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

As far as I know there is no way to do this when you click the New Mail button within Outlook. The only way I know how to do this is to use a macro within Outlook to create the new email and display it. In other words, when you want to start a new email you would have to run the macro instead of clicking the NEW MAIL button. Would that work for you?

Regards,
    Rollin

3. jbl366

jbl366 Thread Starter

Hi Rollin,

It can be done as I have seen it done when I was serving in the Armed Forces. Some clever person created a macro where when you pressed the new mail button, a new email window opened with the date in and also a classfication which you could change:

20091009-(you enter the subject in here)-R (or U).

Unfortunately I no longer work there and am unable to find it anywhere.
    If it was defaulted to insert the date then I would not forget to add it in (nor the people who work for me!)

4. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

Was the button he was clicking the default new mail button or did he create a custom button for this purpose?

Regards,
    Rollin