1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dates are off - Please Help ! - I'm not an expert.

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by t long, Jan 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. t long

t long Thread Starter

My name is Cpl TL Long and I am trying to create a spreadsheet that will calculate the amt of days we are entitled to when we leave Afghanistan.

I've gone over the formulas and I cant wrap my brain around the reason why sometimes it's off a day with the END DATE

Here' the explanation of the Leave Calculator I have made and if anyone can help me here is an explanation as to how it works or how it SHOULD work

Depending on how many days we spend overseas depends on how much leave we get when we return back to Canada.

So we enter our Arrival date in E9 and our Departure Date in E12 giving me a Total Mission days in cell E15

If we are here (in Afghanistan) 120 days or more we are entitled to HLTA (home leave) We get to travel home during the tour for a short rest period and them return. This HLTA or SML (special mission leave as we call it can be shown in the first chart (orange on the right) and I have made a separate Tab for it to do a +Lookup (The tab is called Extra) If you earn let's say 18 days and you use 18 days you have none left - If you earn 18 days and you only use 16 you have two left (which will be carried on in cell E21- If you earn 18 and use 21 you have nothing left.

Departure from KAF (Kandahar Air Field) cell is linked to the Departure Date

If you are here 120 + days you are entitled to 3 days Decompression (wind down time before going home in Cyprus)

Depart for Canada
    Arrive Canada - both self explanatory
    Admin Day - the workday following the day after you arrive in Canada