1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

DB Notify Wnd Proc...

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by annie1931, Jan 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. annie1931

    annie1931 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Way back in 17-Jun-2007, 01:02 PM #4, 1adam12 posted how he fixed that DB Notify Wnd thing that interfered with Outlook Express. In that same thread were problems with OE not responding because it was still running, though the task manager didn't show it.

    Two solutions were posed: one was to find CA firewall and 'clear cache'
    I have CA, I don't know where to find the firewall - I think I have opened all boxes but cannot find it to clear the cache.

    the second was to disable the RSS feed. I don't have an RSS feed enabled....wouldn't know it if I fell over it....

    Would someone be kind enough to tell me, step by step, where to go when I open up my CA security centre? Right now, I just don't close OE, else I have to reboot in order to get it going again. Many thanks.

    Maybe if this can be fixed, all my mail will come in...some is just not showing up at all (not going into CA anti-spam; not going into Spam on my server's mail which is where my outlook also goes).
     
  2. annie1931

    annie1931 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Oh, I hope this message goes in next - I was just on the phone and found out why I couldn't see the Personal Firewall line when I clicked on CA centre - it was below my task bar and hidden - that has been fixed, and now I will try the 'clean the cache' routine.

    Sorry to have taken up space...hope this works.
     
  3. The Hound

    The Hound

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,235
    's okay.

    Let us know how it goes...

    ...and welcome to TSG.
     
  4. annie1931

    annie1931 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    My goodness, never knowing that cache clean was there, it took ages and told me 48.x Mb were cleared out. Blush. Clicked on OE, and up it came. Set cache cleaner for every 2 days.

    Thanks for welcome.
     
  5. The Hound

    The Hound

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,235
    You're welcome---that sounds like a routine maintenance task that can be easily overlooked until the rest of the world doesn't work right---

    You can use the Thread Tools at the top right to mark this one solved---nice work!
     
  6. annie1931

    annie1931 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    I looked at Thread Tools, the drop down gave me "Show Printable...", and "Email..." - don't see anywhere to say 'closed'... will check back in morning. ta
     
  7. The Hound

    The Hound

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,235
    That's okay--

    You're looking for 'Solved'.

    If "Solved" or "Mark this thread solved" or something like that isn't available, don't worry about it.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/890300

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice