1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

dBase III+ and Clipper

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by eboykent, Feb 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eboykent

    eboykent Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Am I the only one still having to modify and keep running mid '80's software, yes, prior to windoze. The s/w is run daily in a very large corporate in a win2000 environment.

    Does anyone have any info on what I could use to help transfer the code to something more modern? Of course, the user interface would have to be rewritten.

    Yep, I'm very old too. :)
     
  2. IMM

    IMM Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,259
  3. Support4U

    Support4U

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    r we just talking about the code or the data files too ?
     
  4. IMM

    IMM Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,259
  5. Support4U

    Support4U

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    i would suggest that the nearest would me MS Access in terms of database imports from dbase III+ and clipper, and can for code you can try Fox pro..uses same coding as Dbase III+ and clipper, cant escape the code modification though ;)
     
  6. IMM

    IMM Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,259
    Whoops - replied to Support4U's question as if it was the original poster - my bad - time to get some rest.
     
  7. Support4U

    Support4U

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    Alaska Xbase++
    is also seems to be promising but never used it
     
  8. eboykent

    eboykent Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for all the replies.

    In dBase and Clipper (that compiles the dbase code) the data element of this database is actually a collection of independant files. This so called database has no built in relationships and rules, all this is handled by programmer code, and can therefore be easily mishandled in the code. That is up to the progammer.

    Access can import each file and creates a table from each file. Then relationships and indexing can be manually added, etc. That is not my problem.

    The problem is creating the code. Some of the dBase code will be redundant as any modern database has a schema and this will automatically do what is done by programmer code in dBase. However, all the code relating to custom processing has to be converted into code that the new databse language understands. This is the where an automated process can help. Hopefully this will minimise errors as opposed to introducing errors when re-writing.

    In Access, the only way I see is manually creating code with vb script (or possible access macros, not so nice and probably cannot do as much as vb script, but quicker) or using vb itself. I have created database systems with both for databases with 30 tables or so, including vb client-server systems using SQL Server in the server.

    I will look at Alaska in more detail as this does look hopeful, thanks. Surprised to hear that Foxpro is still around? I thought it was brought out by microsoft to counter the Borland database system, forgotten the name.

    If I did use Foxpro purely to convert the clipper code, would Ffoxpro code run in Access, ie similar to vb script? Could also be an alternative.

    Many thanks to all. Now need to get down to the nitty gritty to check out viability.
     
  9. Support4U

    Support4U

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    I have used clipper and dbase III+ for long time and yes what u have mentioned is right. That is why i suggested Foxpro which is going to be better since it shares almost the same coding language and uses database only indexes and format files if any will be changed and that is automatic. if you are looking for Access to accept that code it will not. However will suggest try Visual Fox pro and that has vb working with foxpro code and can work like Access. that should help.
     
  10. eboykent

    eboykent Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for suggestion. Will also look at Vis Fox Pro. Nice to know some one else knows of dB and Clipper existance.

    What did you do when migrating your systems?
    Ultimately I am trying to migrate this system that is in daily use to something that others can support. Bit like shooting myself in my own foot but it is nevertheless the right thing to do.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/805095

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice