1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

ddr sd ram

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mfdsuk, Feb 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mfdsuk

    mfdsuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    my computer says it has 256MB of ddr sd ram i wanted to get 512MB more so i went to www.ebuyer.co.uk but i could not find any ddr sd ram all i could find was ddr ram, so i got 512MB of ddr ram and when it came i went to put it in but to my horror the ram was about 1-2 inches too small for my slot do you know where i can get the right size ram both the ram i got from ebuyer and the ram in my computer at the moment are both 182 pin but are different sizes.
    i have a msi km4m series motherboard please help me.
     
  2. WarC

    WarC

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    5,531
    Eeek, thats no good! It sounds like you got laptop RAM.

    DDR SD-RAM and DDR-RAM are the same thing, you just need to be sure that it is for a desktop computer. I'd bet if you cleared it up with ebuyer, they could make an exchange.
     
  3. mfdsuk

    mfdsuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    it's not a laptop.....
    and it was not laptop ram that i brought...
     
  4. WarC

    WarC

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2001
    Messages:
    5,531
    I know its not a laptop,

    but it sounds like thats what you got. Thats the only thing I can think of for getting DDR RAM thats several inches shorter than normal.
     
  5. mfdsuk

    mfdsuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    ok i'll try and buy some more :)
     
  6. mfdsuk

    mfdsuk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    46
  7. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Try going to www.crucial.com and use their memory configurator. It will tell you what memory size and speed you need. Why just buy more if you aren't sure?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/325650

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice