DDR2 timings

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Alcyon

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
81
Two DDR2 sticks:
OCZ PC2-4200 Enhanced Bandwidth labeled for 3-2-2-8
PDP Patriot PDC22G4200+ chips labeled for 3-2-2-4

Both chips are marketed to run at DDR2-533, but obviously can be overclocked. My question is which chip would be better? When clocked for DDR2-667, does it increase the bandwidth for the chip from the DDR2-533 rating of 4.2GB/s? Would it be better to just go with a DD2-667 'labeled' stick like the OCZ w/ 4-4-4-8 and bandwidth of 5.4GB/s??

Hopefully someone here knows something about overclocking or maybe could make an educated conclusion by these reviews:
OCZ PC2-4200 EB
PDP PC2-4200 Patriot

Is it possible to just use similar tests from each review like the Sandra 2004 Standard Buffered Memory Test at 667 speeds??
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
If you want to run memory at 667Mhz then buy PC5300 ram. Overclocking results are not a science and you may not be able to get results close to those reviews. On the otherhand the reviews you posted are good and provide pretty information if you wish to go that route.
 

Alcyon

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
81
OK, it looks like you might be an AMD man, but if it were you... what would you do? Buy the PC5400 with 4-4-4-8, or chose to overclock a slower card? The OCZ easily hits PC5400 at 4-2-2-8, while the PDP does it at 4-3-3-12.

haha, I think I just answered my question in that last sentence. The OCZ has better timings at DDR667 than the PDP chip does.
But the PDP costs at least $70 cheaper per 512MB. Worth it?
 

Alcyon

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 14, 2004
Messages
81
by the way, is that a Barton you have? and how'd you get it up to 2.3??
I have the same mobo/cpu. . .
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
I bumped the FSB to 212Mhz and stuck a Thermaltake SilentBoots on it and voila. I'm also using P3200 RAM. Bumping up the CPU and RAM voltages can help if the system is unstable. With the latest BIOS I found this unnecessary but its the luck of the draw.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Worth it? No! You could buy a complete PC for the price of a set of those. Its new and pretty much not required technology at this point in time, in my opinion the performance does not justify the cost.

To answer your question:
Go with the OCZ, its a better brand and seems to work better.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top