1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dead PC...........

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cougar357, Dec 5, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Cougar357

    Cougar357 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Hello...... When CPU 8 Pin is Plugged in....Computer will not turn on or start.....When I Unplug CPU 8 pin Plug , PC will turn on..... Any Ideas....I am Stumped... Is it the Motherboard or the Processor or ? I have changed the Processor.... Same Problem.... It's a MSI Motherboard... Does it sound like a Bad Motherboard Issue...........?
     
  2. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,333
    First Name:
    Andrew
    Most likely a board issue. You can try and reset the CMOS on the board, but likely will need to replace it. CPUs RARELY go bad, for the record, it can happen just extremely rare.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,439
    First Name:
    Frank
    A detailed description of that MSI motherboard and the processor would be helpful.

    It's possible the motherboard doesn't support the processor.

    It's also possible a BIOS update is needed before the processor can be installed.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,085
    Another possible cause is that you are using the wrong 8 pin connector, either simply the wrong one on a wired PSU or incorrectly connected on a modular psu
    It is not easy to do so, but it can be done
    Check that you have the correct 8 pin connected and not the 8 pin GPU - graphic card connector
     
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
  5. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,793
    All most all PSU have a CPU cable that's labeled CPU. I've not seen one that doesn't.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1236711

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice