Default directory for OE attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DKTaber

Although there was already a thread on this forum (from "Bering") asking if there was a way to change the default directory for Outlook Express e-mail attachments from My Documents to something else, no response provided an answer. I'm new to OE, but every other MS program has a way to change the default directory for files, etc., but I can find nothing in the Options for OE to do this.

Is it hidden somewhere, or is it just not possible to do in this rather poorly designed program?

Don
At this time there is no way to change the default directory for attachments. OE5 sends to my documents.
Unfortunatly most of us keep our documents file orderly and IE just plops the file directly under documents. I am not sure if this was addressed in OE6. There is no registry hack that I know of that could change this since I believe it is hard coded in the exe
program.

Hey Randy
Thanks for the tip! Everywhere I looked came up up with no way Dave!
I sure will give it a try.
Dave

DKTaber

Originally posted by RandyG
It's actually a limitation that can be corrected by a Registry fix, I believe.

How to Change the Default "Save As" Location in Internet Explorer

This is the registry fix for changing the default folder in IE, Outlook 98, and Outlook 2000. I do not see why it wouldn't also do it for OE.

I have not tried it so let us know if it solves the problem.