1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

default gateway causing connection problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by millie0312, Aug 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. millie0312

    millie0312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Hi everyone-
    I am having a very annoying problem while on my laptop with my internet connection. I will be connected online via wifi and the internet stops working. I trouble shoot the problem via windows and it says the default gateway is not available and it fixes the problem and voila internet working again. Every once in a while it also will talk about the connection point not working and it resets during trouble shooting and its fixed again. Its getting to be very annoying because when I first purchased the laptop (less than a year ago) it wasn't a problem, but now it happens every 10 minutes or less (ever since I moved)! I have tried re-installing the drivers, making sure my computer had been updated and turning off my Mcafee firewall- none of the options made it work correctly. My computer's internet doesn't work, but the other laptops that use wifi work just fine still, so I know its just my computer. I know there has been a few posts about this problem, but I still haven't been able to find a solution for my computers problem yet. I was hoping for more technologically advance help than I can figure out since I've reached my last idea option. Any help or ideas would be helpful and greatly appreciated- thanks in advance!!
     
  2. millie0312

    millie0312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Here is some info that may be helpful:

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II P940 Quad-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 16 Model 5 Stepping 3
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 3834 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 , 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 589357 MB, Free - 427315 MB; D: Total - 20817 MB, Free - 3027 MB; F: Total - 99 MB, Free - 89 MB;
    Motherboard: Hewlett-Packard, 1443, 67.33, PL8A0011ZZH0EU
    Antivirus: McAfee Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware, Updated and Enabled
     
  3. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:When you said"My computer's internet doesn't work, but",I'm assuming you mean it does work but fails a lot.
    Can you recall any hardware/software changes made about the time it started to fail ?
    May we see when working and not working,the following ?
    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)



    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

    You also might take a look at the wireless adapter,if it is not on the m/b,and see if it is securely snugged in and that the antenna,if there,looks to be ok.
     
  4. millie0312

    millie0312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    I can't think of any changes around the time other than moving and I tried making sure it wasn't a problem with the wireless, but when my internet stops working other latops with wireless are working off of the same internet and wireless just fine, so the problem must lie in my computer- here is the ip config when the internet is working:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Amelia>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Amelia-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 4313 802.11b/g/n
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F3-95-B1-E6-35
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1db4:acb7:e25b:2b09%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 2:24:39 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 18, 2011 6:25:45 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 376501141
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-33-67-18-60-EB-69-64-EB-36
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F3-95-D4-0C-28
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5EC03040-0BD6-4AF9-93E2-9068FB0359A7}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1c91:371b:b399:3056(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c91:371b:b399:3056%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Users\Amelia>
     
  5. millie0312

    millie0312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    I do mean my internet stops working on a regular basis, not that its not connected at all lol sorry- it goes from working fine to all of a sudden off line
     
  6. millie0312

    millie0312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    the internet stopped working, but just said it couldn't find the problem and this was the ip config:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Amelia>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Amelia-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 4313 802.11b/g/n
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F3-95-B1-E6-35
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1db4:acb7:e25b:2b09%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 2:24:39 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 18, 2011 6:46:29 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 376501141
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-33-67-18-60-EB-69-64-EB-36
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F3-95-D4-0C-28
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5EC03040-0BD6-4AF9-93E2-9068FB0359A7}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:1c91:371b:b399:3056(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c91:371b:b399:3056%15(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Users\Amelia>^A
     
  7. millie0312

    millie0312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Here it is with the same problem:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Amelia>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Amelia-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 4313 802.11b/g/n
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F3-95-B1-E6-35
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1db4:acb7:e25b:2b09%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.6(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 17, 2011 2:24:39 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 18, 2011 7:05:48 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 376501141
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-33-67-18-60-EB-69-64-EB-36
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 70-F3-95-D4-0C-28
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5EC03040-0BD6-4AF9-93E2-9068FB0359A7}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Amelia>
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,319
    First Name:
    Terry
    You still have a good IP configuration, so when you have the problem try these test commands ...

    ping 10.0.0.6 (or whatever your current IPv4 address is)

    ping 10.0.0.1

    ping 8.8.8.8

    ping yahoo.com
     
  9. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,298
    You said this wasn't a problem until you moved. What is your signal strength like when the connection drops?
     
  10. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    To follow up on srhoards post,may we see:
    Wifi test exe.

    Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspecto from
    www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen(networks screen) here.



    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button
    to upload it here.

    Note that this application requires NET Framework to run. If you get an error about a missing function, download and install NET Framework.

    And the pings that Terry requested.
     
  11. kanfaar

    kanfaar

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    I'm thinking srhoades is in the right line of questioning. This started happening when you moved.

    The router that you're connecting to; is it the same one as before you moved? Does it belong to you?

    Provided the answer to both of those questions is: Yes. Without knowing the layout of your house, meaning where you use the laptop versus where the router is: If you move the laptop to within, say, 10 feet and in line-of-sight of the router, does it still happen?

    If moving it closer to the router and/or into different areas stops the problem, then try to think if there's a brick wall, laundry room, bathroom, kitchen (or other lots-of-metal-or-brick-or-cement walls) between 'where you have the trouble' and 'the router'. If this is the case, sometimes there's a setting in the configuration settings of the router that will allow you to increase the radio signal strength. See if that helps. If there's not that setting, then it may help to relocate the router closer to where you typically use the laptop. There are also 'repeaters' which one could locate closer to you that could boost the signal if it turns out that you're just too far from the router or there's no available means to relocate the router.

    If none of that works and you tried the "ping"-ing as someone posted earlier; what happens if you run the command (through 'cmd'):

    PING 127.0.0.1
     
  12. millie0312

    millie0312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks for the help!!! I pinged the computer and halfway through it started working again, so this is the results:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Amelia>ping 10.0.0.6
    Pinging 10.0.0.6 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 10.0.0.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 10.0.0.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 10.0.0.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 10.0.0.6: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 10.0.0.6:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    C:\Users\Amelia>ping 10.0.0.1
    Pinging 10.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=157ms TTL=64
    Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time=5ms TTL=64
    Reply from 10.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 10.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 157ms, Average = 54ms
    C:\Users\Amelia>ping 8.8.8.8
    Pinging 8.8.8.8 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=35ms TTL=49
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=49
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 8.8.8.8: bytes=32 time=77ms TTL=49
    Ping statistics for 8.8.8.8:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 3, Lost = 1 (25% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 35ms, Maximum = 77ms, Average = 49ms
    C:\Users\Amelia>ping yahoo.com
    Pinging yahoo.com [209.191.122.70] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=61ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=57ms TTL=49
    Reply from 209.191.122.70: bytes=32 time=56ms TTL=49
    Ping statistics for 209.191.122.70:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 56ms, Maximum = 61ms, Average = 57ms
    C:\Users\Amelia>

    As far as the router, if someone sits next to me with a laptop, their computer will continue to work, but mine stops. It doesn't matter where I am, I sit and am doing stuff online and it all of a sudden stops working, then starts again. If it is working the signal strength is full strength since its only one room away with nothing major blocking the signal. The router is a different router, but its the same brand and make/model as before. When its working its working really well, so I know it can work. I will run the wifi test to see if that yeilds an answer
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,319
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site.

    Uninstall McAfee and run the Removal Tool. After you do the following repairs and test for a short while you can reinstall it.

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  14. srhoades

    srhoades

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,298
    Those are horrible ping times for internal pings. Either you are too far from the router or you wireless adapter is going bad.
     
  15. millie0312

    millie0312 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Ok- just an update since I broke my hand and have been offline for a week or so (lol) I tried all the suggestions and now the problem is worse than ever and times out ever minute or two giving me multiple reasons or no reason at all in diagnosis. So fustrating :( Any other tips or advice? I looked into system restore, but its only giving me the option of like 2 days ago. I also put in a reputable virus checker to make sure there was nothing that wasn't caught before and no luck
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1013048

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice