1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Default gateway not available

Discussion in 'Networking' started by aadekanbi, Feb 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aadekanbi

    aadekanbi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Hi, i was wondering if you could help me, i have a laptop computer with windows 7 and im having trouble connecting to my wireless internet. It says that im receiving packets but not sending them. I have tried to troubleshoot the problem and it says that the default gateway is not available. I am not sure what is happening with it, it started having problems while at a starbucks, and now the wireless and the LAN is not working on it.
     
  2. aadekanbi

    aadekanbi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I have also tried flushing my DNS
     
  3. aadekanbi

    aadekanbi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    And i have also made sure that my settings were on obtain DNS and ipv6 address automatically.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Please show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  5. steve65

    steve65

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    at the command prompt if you type:

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and automatically open notepad. Then you can copy the contents and paste them it.
     
  6. aadekanbi

    aadekanbi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    C:\Users\Aadekanbi>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Aadekanbi-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-0F-6E-84-AA-17
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 4C-0F-6E-84-AA-17
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3532:2313:ba35:2d14%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.36(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, February 14, 2011 7:40:15 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 8:25:28 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 223088494
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-14-14-04-D6-88-AE-1D-7E-5F-E2
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 88-AE-1D-7E-5F-E2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.myhome.westell.com:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{0A22AB95-47CE-4F68-89E7-2C1E9193DBB0}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Aadekanbi>
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    The ethernet is saying "Media disconnected" which could mean that the cable is defective or not connected, or the NIC is defective, or the NIC has been powered down to save battery (and to drive us crazy thinking that something is wrong :) ).

    The wireless looks like a perfectly good IP configuration including the Default Gateway. Perhaps you have a non-Windows firewall or security suite that is mis-configured or corrupted and blocking all access. What if any, do or did you have on the machine?

    Please try the following tests. Run them in a Command prompt window and display the results the same way as the ipconfig /all.

    ping 192.168.1.36 (or whatever your current IPv4 address is)

    ping 192.168.1.1

    ping 8.8.8.8

    ping yahoo.com
     
  8. aadekanbi

    aadekanbi Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    I have Mcafee internet security, i actually just turned off my firewall and im able to connect to the internet. Thank you so much. Do u know what i need to do in order to prevent my firewall from not allowing me to access the net.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    Uninstall it (probably corrupted or out of date), run the Removal Tool, test, and then reinstall McAfee (if you still want it) and do any configuration needed.
     
  10. missthesun

    missthesun

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I was reading this yesterday and I tried this morning and turned off the Firewall (I use Macafee as well) and I was able to connect to the wireless.
    Now I am just curious, is this a Macafee issue or Windows 7? When I was looking for an answer yesterday I found the same topic on many sites. Can you offer a solution for this, obviously we need to keep the Firewall up.
     
  11. missthesun

    missthesun

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    By the way, I forgot to mention that I just bought this computer last weekend and everything is brandnew and nothing is out of date
     
  12. leoneire

    leoneire

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Basically out of the box your Macafee internet security does not know that your wireless network is a trusted network. So what you have to do is select your wireless network within MacAfee and allow the network through your firewall.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,556
    I can suggest two solutions:

    a. Use the Windows firewall; or

    b. Learn how to configure another firewall, and how to uninstall it, clean up any mess left behind and reinstall it when it becomes corrupted.
     
  14. missthesun

    missthesun

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Could you assist me in doing this!? To make my home network trusted within Macafee.
    I really would appreciate that!
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/980807