1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Default Value for table field in Access 2007

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by slikbaz, Oct 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. slikbaz

slikbaz Thread Starter

I'm relatively new to access, only been working with it on and off for the past few months or so and have run into a little problem now.

Basically, a date is entered in a field on a table called "Date of Entry", and another value is entered in a different field called "Serving Period". Now I have another field called "Expiry Date", and basically it's the value (date) of "Serving Period" added to the date in "Enter Date". I suppose that it would possibly have something to do with the Default Value of the "Expiry Date", but that's where I'm confused. Of course, I need not make it automatic and let the user do the math himself, but I'd rather it was done this way if possible.

I'm using Access 2007 on Windows 7.

Any help appreciated.

2. OBP

OBP

slikbaz, welcome to the Forum.
    Is the Serving Period in Days?

3. slikbaz

slikbaz Thread Starter

Thanks, and no, the serving period is a numeric value in years.

4. OBP

OBP

That makes it a little more difficult as you have do extract the year from the date and add the serving period to it.
    But it can easily be doen using VBA.

5. slikbaz

slikbaz Thread Starter

I haven't really explored VBA yet, so is it possible to write VBA code within access without the use of any external programs? And if so, can you point me towards the commands etc. that would be useful in doing what I need?

6. OBP

OBP

I can write the code for you, but obviously it would be good to learn it for yourself. Access comes with it's own Version of VBA.