1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

'DefaultSettingEXE MCF Application' Error

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by sirenetta, Aug 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sirenetta

    sirenetta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I recently purchased a new machine with windows vista home premium installed. Ever since I have had the machine I am presented with the following error on boot up

    'DefaultSettingEXE MFC Application has stopped working' A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.'

    I do not know which program is causing this issue, since as I said it appears on boot up - the only option available to me is 'close program' although it is not apparant which program is being closed

    can anyone help me with this please?

    thanks a mill in advance
     
  2. sirenetta

    sirenetta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Dont know if this will help, found also this in the problem reports and solutions for the DefaultSettingEXE MFC Application (but it means diddly squat to me)


    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: PLFSetI.exe
    Application Version: 1.0.1.0
    Application Timestamp: 471d62d0
    Fault Module Name: PLFSetI.exe
    Fault Module Version: 1.0.1.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 471d62d0
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 00001afe
    OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 2057
    Additional Information 1: c2bf
    Additional Information 2: 6ebb739c11aefad181667f3213cbd978
    Additional Information 3: 098f
    Additional Information 4: 912bc10785b4ba554329f62ffbb028f4
     
  3. ohheck

    ohheck

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,275
    do you have a sonix webcam on this pc?
    may want to update the driver for it:

    http://www.sonix.com.tw/sonix/product.do?p=sn9c105

    or if you never use the cam you may want to disable it from startup:
    goto Start - Run -
    type in msconfig
    click the Startup tab - look for PLFSetI.exe and uncheck it
     
  4. sirenetta

    sirenetta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    hi

    Thanks for replying

    yes there is an untegrated web cam on the machine - it is called crystaleye I think (not replying from the laptop right now) will check the drivers for it. If I disable the application from my start up - will it affect the functionality of the cam in skype? I mean it will only stop it on start up but it will auto re-activate when an application calls it?
     
  5. ohheck

    ohheck

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,275
    im not sure and it still may crash when the software for it starts :(
     
  6. sirenetta

    sirenetta Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    ok thanks

    I will try that - the cam itself actually works which is odd
    Will post back at the weekend
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/745511