1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Define "class"

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by kenneth2k1, Aug 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kenneth2k1

kenneth2k1 Thread Starter

I'm new to C, and I'm on Apple's development site going through their tutorial thing. I'm reading about "object models" and I can understand some of these terms, but I am not wrapping my head around the idea of a class. And it's probably because of these stupid types of definitions. I don't get it, so perhaps someone could explain it in dumber terms.

class In the Objective-C language, a prototype for a particular kind of object. A class definition declares instance variables and defines methods for all members of the class. Objects that have the same types of instance variables and have access to the same methods belong to the same class.

Thanks for any help, and any other info you want to give a beginning C developer.

2. AGCurry

AGCurry

Classes are really not an integral part of C programming, but they are a part of C++ and Java and any other object-oriented language.

Do you know what a "struct" is in C? A struct is a structure, which in even older languages we call a record. It may contain scalar variables, arrays, other structs, and pointers.

In C we can use pointers to functions. It's kind of an advanced concept and may be a little hard to wrap your head around, but if you think about how a program looks when it's in memory, a function resides at a certain address, just like a variable. So, we can create a variable which is a pointer to that address, and we call it a pointer to a function.