Defrag a Raid0 array

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

spdnrcrx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
5
Hello, I just bought a new Dell XPS desktop with a Core 2 Duo and a Raid 0, I used to use Diskeeper to defrag on the old pc, but when I run Diskeeper on the Raid 0 setup, I get a error that one of the hard drives are failing. I was wondering if you have to defrag a raid setup or not? Some people say that you dont want to defrag a raid0, some say they defrag all the time with no problem. What would you suggest? Thanks for your Help! Long Time Fan!! Dennis
[email protected]
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Although I haven't used Diskeeper with a RAID setup there is no reason that you shouldn't be able to defrag a RAID or any reason why you shouldn't do it. Usually Dells come with diagnostic software either loaded on the HD or on a CD. Suggest you run the check HD utility.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
I defrag my RAID machines with the same defrag used on any other machine. One is using Diskeeper, the other is using PerfectDisk. The standard Windows defrag works fine on a RAID array too.

If you're getting an error saying the drive is failing, it might just be because the drive IS failing, did you consider that? :)
 

spdnrcrx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
5
I just downloaded perfectdisk, and It defraged with no error!
I dont know why Diskeeper generates an error, guess I will use perfectdisk
Thank You for your help and quick responce!
Dennis.
 

spdnrcrx

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 20, 2007
Messages
5
Well here is a update, I did download perfectdisk and it was working Great, I turns out that I Do have a faulty Hard drive!! I just bought this new Dell 2 weeks ago, You would think there shouldn't be any problems with a brand new pc.The tech dude at Dell, said sometimes new products go bad, so there going to send me a new hard drive. When I get it up and running, I will let you all know how everything working. Does anybody know what the difference between a Raid0 and a Raid1 array is, is one better that the other, or faster?
Thanks for all your help!
Dennis.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
RAID-0 is striped, RAID-1 is mirrored. RAID-0 is for performance, RAID-1 is for hardware redundancy. If you lose one drive, you lose everything in a RAID-0 array.

IMO, I see no reason to ever use RAID-1 on a home system, you'd be far better served using the second drive as a real backup. Don't fool yourself into thinking RAID at any level is backup.

BTW, I was waiting for your post about the failing drive, I was certain that changing your defrag application was not going to "fix" this. :D
 

bonk

Banned
Joined
Sep 8, 2005
Messages
11,097
Very interesting way to put it, but clear.....the trouble is now I'm thirsty.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top