1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Defrag problems

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Pacalis, Sep 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Pacalis

    Pacalis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,457
    When I try to Defrag WIN98se , I get a prompt to do a Thorough SCAN . I did this all day yesterday , but with no results . I can Defrag in the SAFE MODE , but I'd like to get this fixed . Anyone have any thoughts on how I can repair this ? Thanks
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    when you do the scan turn off your a/v and screensaver as these cause the scan to keep restarting if you do a scan of the disk surface it will take forever
     
  3. Pacalis

    Pacalis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,457
    I turn everything running off , before maintenance .
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    run the system file checker
    start/programs/system/tools/ file checker
    if you then still have problems
    run spybot and adaware
     
  5. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,848
    First Name:
    Rob
    This is a fact of Windows 98. Most peopke have this problem, and Sgae Mode is the fix.

    A Thorough scan shouldn't be neccessary - but if you do it, does it find any bad sectors?

    As a alternative to Windows Defrag, try Executive Software Diskeeper or Norton Speed Disk - both run much better then the Windows Defrag software. There's also many free programs - try looking for one at www.downloads.com.

    Do a CTRL-ALT-DEL, all the stuff you see is running in the background - and it doesn't include the stuff Windows itself is doing.
     
  6. Pacalis

    Pacalis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,457
    is Sgae mode? And I do shut everything down before the Defrag & Scan disc . I have already run Systems File Checker , no problems , and also the Thorough Scan disk showed no bad sectors ? What do I try next ?
     
  7. skyman

    skyman

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,234
    Go to:

    www.amso.ro

    and dowload the program, Fast Defrag...

    Try it and see if it does to job for you...
     
  8. skyman

    skyman

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,234
  9. WhitPhil

    WhitPhil Gone but never forgotten Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    8,684
    Restart to DOS and run a Standard Scandisk from there.

    For "some reason" this "sometimes" keeps Defrag happy and lets it run ok!

    skyman:

    I think that I have pointed this out before, but the program at your link is NOT a defrag program.

    It states "is a tool that can free and optimize RAM (Random Access Memory) and the swap-file usage".

    And, it can NOT do this either. The inuse swapfile can not be defragged AND it is architecturally impossible to defrag RAM, regardless of how many utilities that are out there that state that they do!
     
  10. skyman

    skyman

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,234
    WhitPhil.

    You may have pointed this out before but I have not seen your advice.

    I mentioned this program because it was referenced by another poster, with some credibility, as being a "fast defrag" program.

    Thanks for the information as to it's usage...
     
  11. Pacalis

    Pacalis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,457
    I will certainly look into these options . I have tried the DOS sCAN DISK , but when I tried Defrag , it still stopped and gave me a prompt to run a thorough Scan disc . Which showed that everyhing was ok. Thanks again , and if you can think of something else , please let me know.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168044

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice