Delete a record in Access based on a combo box selection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jack_Maloney

Hi,

I am new to access and am struggling on trying to delete a record. Basically, I want the user to select an option from a drop down list (Select_Project_Type_cbx) and then click on a 'Delete' button which will delete the record associated with the drop down option selected.

This is the code I have so far:

Private Sub Delete_Project_Type_btn_Click()
Dim sDeleteRecordSQL As String
sDeleteRecordSQL = "Delete * From Project_Type_tbl " & _
" Where Project_Type_Name.Name = " & Select_Project_Type_cbx.Value
Me.Select_Project_Type_cbx.RowSource = sDeleteRecordSQL
Me.Select_Project_Type_cbx.Requery

End Sub

When the user clicks on the delete button it just removes ALL options from the combo box. Nothing is deleted from the table "Project_Type_tbl".

If someone can point me in the right direction on where I am going wrong here it would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
Jack

OBP

Jack_Maloney, welcome to the forum.
This line is your problem
Me.Select_Project_Type_cbx.RowSource = sDeleteRecordSQL
it should be
set rs = sDeleteRecordSQL
where rs is dimmed as
dim rs as object
You could also run a delete query using the combo as a Criteria, or have the form's record source based on the table and convert the combo to a "Find Combo" and then delete the rcord on the form.
You should also have a Confiming Message something like
response = msgbox("Are you sure you want to Delete " & Select_Project_Type_cbx & "", vbYesNo + vbExclamation + vbDefaultButton2)

Jack_Maloney

Thanks for the reply OBP.

I now get a message saying 'type mismatch' on the 'Set rs = sDeleteRecordSQL' line.

Code is:
Dim sDeleteRecordSQL As String
Dim rs As Object
sDeleteRecordSQL = "Delete * From Project_Type_tbl " & _