delete temp internet files etc?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

eric urban

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2001
Messages
38
Hi,
Just wanted to know how to safely delete temp internet files
plus sites I visited that show up on the header area?
wherever do they go?
Thanks
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2001
Messages
1,234
TO DELETE YOUR TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES

GO TO INTERNET EXPLORER/TOOLS/PROPERTIES/SETTINGS/VIEW FILES/EDIT/
SELECT ALL/FILE/DELETE AND YOUR TEMP INTERNET FILES WILL BE GONE.


This will delete all your cookies also.

If this is not what you want, keep on the thread
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
Actually, there's a very hidden folder named Content.IE5 within your Temporary Internet Files folder that you'll want to delete too. You can do this from Dos.
 

eric urban

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2001
Messages
38
Hi again,
Actually I am using AOL on my laptop, compaq presario 1200,
with windows 98.
So how do I delete temp internet since I do not have IE? Or
am not using it as my browser?
Also what do I exactly type in at the dos prompt to delete
that other "hidden" file?
Thanks a lot
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
Sorry, but not familiar with AOL. If it doesn't use IE then I don't think you'll have the Content.IE5 folder nor do I know if the TIF files would even be stored in the Temporary Internet Files directory.
Hopefully someone around here uses AOL...
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi Eric urban, there is a program you can download called Spider.It will remove the hidden file in IE. your temp. internet files,history files and cookies.I use it all the time and its a great program,and its free.


http://www.fsm.nl/ward

Just download the version you want,(i have v1.16)unzip and run it
Btw,i had aol about 2 years ago and just because you use the aol browser doesnt mean you dont have IE.Go to Start>Run>type in msinfo32 when the window opens you will see what version of IE you have.

Let us know if this helps.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
741
you have an index dat file in ie you can delete in dos but it will put it back when you start up again
 

eric urban

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2001
Messages
38
Hi again,
I just downloaded the "spider", will check it out later tonight or
tommorrow, will let you know what I find.
Thanks so far
 

eric urban

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2001
Messages
38
well I downlaoded "spider", and I see what you mean, it
shows all the stuff. But how do I delete the stuff?
The spider program itself does'nt delete?
or is something wrong?
When I try to delete all the urls from Windows Explorer, it
deletes, then I go to spider and it still shows it?
Does'nt the spider program ITSELF delete??
if so HOW?
thanks
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
With Spider open, choose the Options menu. You should be able to check what you would like Spider to delete.
 

eric urban

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 8, 2001
Messages
38
well what I have downloaded is spider 1.04, and 116.
I have 1.04 up and running, and when I start it it begins to
scan the drive and stops and says that "file too large for notepad
would you like to use wordpad instead?", I click ok, and it
loads all the urls etc. Then on the top of the screen there are
the following: file,edit,view,insert,format,help.
only under "view" will you find "options", and in that there is
nothing that would delete any info, under edit there is nothing
that says or shows anyway to delete.
So I tried to unzip the 116 version and I am stuck in the unzipping
part, it says that the file is already unzipped and when I look
at the contents it is empty? I am using norton unzip, then again
another time I did it and selected all and it showed the contents
as spider.exe and so forth, then when I closed the unzip program
and on the screen was something new called "spiderbite" and
I tried that out and a blue box came up and said that "spiderbite
cannot read the hidden url" , so I am not sure now what is
going on??
Thanks for the help
 
Joined
Dec 2, 1998
Messages
2,736
Well, I am using 1.1.6.0 and I'm not sure how previous versions work nor do I know why 1.1.6 is causing you so many probs. If you like, I can send you the zip file as a self-extracting to give it a try... If so, Private Message or email me with your email address.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2001
Messages
62
Just to let you know and it may or may not help Aol uses and integrated version of IE. I think that aol 6.0 uses ie 4
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top