Deleting a write protected file

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Jazzman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Messages
47
I use Windows ME. I have just installed Macafee Virusscan which has found a bug in C;\_RESTORE|ARCHIVE\FS3206.cab. This file is in a write protected area and McAfee cannot clean, delete or quarantine it. How can I remove write protection from this folder so that McAfee can do it's work?
As a matter of interest what is this data?
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2004
Messages
248
that is your systems restore
you should be able to get rid of it by turning on your systems restore
rebooting then turning it back on
heres how to

Right-click the My Computer icon on the Desktop and click Properties.
Click the Performance tab.
Click the File System button.
Click the Troubleshooting tab.
Select Disable System Restore.
Click Apply > Close > Close.
When prompted to restart, click Yes.

reboot

Right-click the My Computer icon on the Desktop and click Properties.
Click the Performance tab.
Click the File System button.
Click the Troubleshooting tab.
Select enable System Restore.
Click Apply > Close > Close
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2004
Messages
248
oh probably good idea to run another av scan to make sure it is gone
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,148
Follow Lobo's advice. I recently worked on a Windows ME computer where a virus was detected in one of the System Restore folders. The antivirus program was unable to get rid of it. I disabled System Restore, rebooted, then re-enabled it. The virus was no longer detected. :D
 

Jazzman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 23, 2002
Messages
47
Thanks Lobos I took your advice and it worked like a charm. I will probably do this from time to time as a monthly maintanance routine to dump redundant restore files and free up some space.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Just note that when you do this, you will NOT be able to do a System Restore until another checkpoint has been created.

If you just want to control the size of these files, see link

It describes Restore and shows how to change the size.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top