deleting files

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

drafter

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 21, 2000
Messages
419
In our office we have Win server 2003 as our file server. My problem is whenever I delete a file it is completely gone. It is not in the recyle bin on my local computer or on the network server. Is there a way around this so the file that gets deleted willl go to one of the 2 places.
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2007
Messages
9,028
The Recycle Bin only protects local files that are deleted locally. When a file is deleted on a network share, it's permanently deleted. I don't know of any way to change that.

What you can do is enable the use of Shadow Copies. This makes scheduled backups of shared folders (default is 7AM and Noon, Mon-Fri, this can be changed). Clients then access these copies via a Previous Versions tab on the file/folder properties.

Not quite the same as a recycle bin; if changes are made to a file, and it's deleted before a shadow copy of it is created, those changes are lost, but it's better than nothing.

See these three articles for info on setting it up:
How to configure the Shadow Copies of Shared Folders feature
Working with the Windows Server 2003 Volume Shadow Copy Service
Note, the path to the client folder in the previous article is incorrect.
THe correct path is %SystemRoot%\System32\Clients\Twclient\x86 (or amd64/ia64)
How to use the Shadow Copy Client
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2001
Messages
2,070
In our office we have Win server 2003 as our file server. My problem is whenever I delete a file it is completely gone. It is not in the recyle bin on my local computer or on the network server. Is there a way around this so the file that gets deleted willl go to one of the 2 places.
Not that I am aware of. This behavior is by design. As a general rule, it is always a good idea to have solid backup procedures in place to prevent accidental deletions.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
It's probably a good idea to refain from deleting files that you may want to use later. But shadow copies are enabled by default in all versions of Vista and 7 (though not accessible in the lower versions). All versions can access all shadow copies by date using the free ShadowExplorer. Shadow copies are created instantaneously whenever a file is deleted or moved (which is a deletion), so all deleted files have shadows and they are the most recent versions so changes made to the files before deletion are saved.
 
Joined
May 2, 2010
Messages
73
If you are deleting these files over the network then they won't be in the recycle bin. Also, files in the recycle bin is not the best way to have back up for servers. You should have solid backup in place for servers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top