1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Bios

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Abm4ever, Feb 20, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Abm4ever

    Abm4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I have an Optiplex 760, with Revision A05..

    I want to know how do I access the bios on this board. When I press F12 or F2, all I get is a black screen with the Boot selection and diagnose, but now the regular blue bios menu.
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    944
    It's the F2 key....to do this...you have to continually tap the F2 key at the post beep until you get the bios flash screen.
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,203
    First Name:
    Frank
    As stated in post #2:
    As soon as you press the power on button, continually tap and release the F2 key(upper left corner of the keyboard) without interruption until the BIOS setup screen appears.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016
  4. Abm4ever

    Abm4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I really appreciate you guys taking the time. However, I'm getting image Number one instead of image Number two
     

    Attached Files:

  5. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,603
    that pic number 1 is way too small for me to read, but it looks like a Dell bios screen. What are you trying to do?
     
  6. Abm4ever

    Abm4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I'm trying to access the regular blue screen bios, so i could change the setting of the internal video card from "AUTO or 32 MB" to increase my Dedicated Video Ram. However, All I'm getting is the screen in the second images, which name is Image number 1
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,203
    First Name:
    Frank
    You need to expand the Video heading in Image #1.
    There may or may not be a setting change there.

    You may or may not be able to change it to more than 32 MB.
    Why are you wanting to do that?

    The Dell OptiPlex 760 appears to have Intel GMA 4500 integrated graphics.
    If you want better graphics for some reason, you may need to install a dedicated graphics card like I did.

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2016
  8. Abm4ever

    Abm4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    I'm a third world country game and fried my Nvidia 9500. While I get something on my way, I want to try this. I know the option is there, but my issue is I'm getting that gray utility menu instead of BIOS
     

    Attached Files:

  9. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    75,603
    You are in the bios. Expand the video option and check there; if it's not there, that function isn't supported by that machine.
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,203
    First Name:
    Frank
    I've got Dell OptiPlex 755 and 780 minitower desktops which are almost identical to the 760's in their hardware.
    I don't remember seeing a setting where you can change the amount of MB's of video memory.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,203
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm guessing you actually had a GeForce 9500 GT.

    The GeForce GT 720 or 730 would be a much better replacement.
    It uses less power and has a much higher benchmark score.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. Abm4ever

    Abm4ever Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you all for taking the time.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1166566

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice