1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Computer -> Customcase?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by CreamCow, Jul 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CreamCow

    CreamCow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    I was wondering if it's possible to transfer all the components from my Dell computer into a new computer case, or would I need a new mobo and what not?
     
  2. CreamCow

    CreamCow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    dunno why nobody's responded yet... em... do I need to give more information?

    It's a Pentium III 1.0gig processor, two CD drives, sound and video card... bout two years old...
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Depends on the cutouts in the back of your new case. And don't even try to use a different power supply unless it's from Dell....if you plan on fitting the new motherboard in as well ;)
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Not sure what you consider 'all the components' to be ;)
     
  5. CreamCow

    CreamCow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    The only thing that would change in the setup would be the case...

    Basically what I'm concerned about is having the mobo fit.
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    It depends, you will need to look at the back of the case you have now, see where everything is lined up. Look at the back of the new case that you are considering. Will the slots line up?

    And I guess I don't really understand, if the case if the only thing that is going to change, why bother???????????
     
  7. CreamCow

    CreamCow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    The new case is better looking... it's really for my brother.
     
  8. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Then refer back to my last post. WILL the slots line up? If not, it's not gonna work. USUALLY in cases like DELLS, or GATEWAYS, the answer is going to be NO.
     
  9. CreamCow

    CreamCow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    115
    roger that, I'll look.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/150030

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice