1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Dimension 3000 dead

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by skinthegoat, Nov 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. skinthegoat

    skinthegoat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    My trusty old (5 years or so) Dimension has finally sat down on me. Fails to power up to the point where BIOS talks to display. Power light on front of cabinet is solid amber. Have tried swopping/reducing memory, removing all option cards, removing all disks, DVDs, &c. All voltages measure OK on P1, except for pin 14 (PS_ON), which reads zero. Pin 8 (POK) reads 5.1V, but of course, I've no idea what these would be were the darn thing working. At no time do any of the four LEDs at the rear show any signs of life. Anyone out there got any ideas? I'd hate to buy a PSU and then find it was the motherboard. Although I worked on computers (large systems - yes, I know, I'm a dinosaur!) before I retired, I'm no expert now; but my shakey hands are still capable of holding a voltmeter.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
  3. pip22

    pip22

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,536
    PSUs are usually built to a standard form-factor and have standard screw-hole positions so buying one needn't be a total waste of money if it turns out to be something else (unless Dell machines require a proprietary PSU of course, that wouldn't surprise me). I stopped buying branded computers several years ago - I have mine built locally. No nasty surprises with parts - they are all standard fitting.
     
  4. skinthegoat

    skinthegoat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks guys, I think I may have to invest in a PSU and try it. As I said, I never get as far as the diagnostic lights, and what the service manual says about the power light was of no help - it suggested swopping/replacing the memory, which I'd done to no avail. Thank you both for your responses.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,962
    First Name:
    Frank
    You're welcome, and good luck. :) (y)

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027586

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice