1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Dell Dimension 3000 Won't Power On

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by I Fix 4 U, Aug 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    My friend's dell dimension won't turn on. Pushing the power button does nothing. The computer was working fine recently then there was a power outage around the time. It doesn't seem like the PSU because I had it plugged in with the case open and there was a glowing green light on the motherboard which disappeared upon unplugging the computer.

    Now here is exactly what happens when pushing the power button. No fans and/or indicator of being on. Nothing, no harddrive etc.
    It really makes me think it is the switch.

    How would I go about fixin this.
    Bear with me and do try to be quick as the hurricane tomorrow may not allow me to get back on for a week.

    Thanx in advance very much :D
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    If your power supply fan doesn't even turn on, and nothing else does either, I would start to suspect the power supply.
     
  3. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    Is there a way to reset/check the power supply? That would make sense as if no fans come on then the PSU could be messing up, and although power will still flow (right?) likely there would be failsafes stopping the computer from starting up?
     
  4. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
  5. dustyjay

    dustyjay Jay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,164
    I think I would agree that if the power supply fan does even start to turn that I would suspect a bad powersupply.
     
  6. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    Ok, well hurricane :eek: isn't here yet.
    Can't find the diagnostic lights.
    There is no fan movement, but since pushing the power button does nothing, and I can still see the light, how would I figure out if it is the switch or not.
    I'll remove a ram stick soon.
    On the right track?

    *updated*
     
  7. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    there is NO fan in the psu?? a psu has 3 voltage rails two may still be working while one is screwed, if you want to pull the mobo out of the case, unplug the switch and short the two switch terminals to see if it is the switch, but odds have it on a bad psu.
     
  8. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    err :D bad wording. The fan doesn't move.
    OK i get your thing about the voltage rails.
    Now since I can't find the diagnostic lights, how may I go about tweaking the switch?
     
  9. brite750

    brite750

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2002
    Messages:
    13,404
    I would think that the fan not moving on the psu means its dead, most likely the 12v rail is gone, so you are getting some power to the mobo, etc, but not enough to get through the post, playing with the switch is not going to help. if you still want to try that, there are 2 pins on your mobo where the case switch connects to, if you short those two pins with a flat blade screw driver momentarily, it is the same as if you used the switch. If that doesnt work, then it is not the switch. to get at these two pins you may have to remove the mobo from the case, unplug all the drives leaving just the psu, mobo/cpu+hsf/ram/gfx card combo, no drives, if you do remove the mobo make sure it is on a non conductive surface, cardboard would do, and of course take percautions with static when handling pcb's.

    and just a reminder when playing with the case open, unplug the darn thing.
     
  10. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    Ok well undoing the mobo is out of the question, so I'll see if it is in an accessible spot. Now, doesn't it have to be plugged in to short it? I'd have to get the screwdriver and quickly tap the spot where the switch itself connects to the mobo, thus hopefully making it startup?
     
  11. CarlssonMB

    CarlssonMB

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    To do that it has to be plugged in but any other time your fooling around with it, it should be unplugged
     
  12. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    Makes sense :D then I have heard some leave it plugged in to ground themselves w/ an antistatic band but that makes no sense. I always unplug.
     
  13. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    The "diagnostic lights" are 4 leds on the rear panel -- seen as ABCD in this shot.

    Normally they are all green (you can't see that here) -- if none of them are lit:

     

    Attached Files:

  14. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    Oh now I see them, I'll post what they show soon.
     
  15. I Fix 4 U

    I Fix 4 U Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,646
    Lights arent lighting up. Things have quited down @ the house I think I can hear a mild buzz when I put my ear by the computer.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/394191