Dell Dimension 8250 (533MHz FSB) Desktop

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Rickkman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Messages
163
I have a Dell Dimension 8250 (533MHz FSB) Desktop with 512 ram which occupies 2 slots. There are still two open slots but according to both Dell and Crucial the remaining slots should not be upgraded and that my memory is maxed out at 512. I had cosidered upgrading to Windows Vista but this would be a stretch on this machine and only made worse with 512 ram. What is the reason for the max of 512 with two open slots?
Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Your Dell uses RDRAM which must be installed in pairs. Crucial generally doesn't carry it, but it is available from Dell and elsewhere. I looked here 8250 Specs and it looks like 2GB is your max. Did you find somewhere where it said differently?
 

Rickkman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Messages
163
Crucial stated that I was maxed out at 512 ram and Dell Tech Support told me that I would void my extended warranty (expired 12/2006) if I installed any more memory than the installed 512 ram.
 

Rickkman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Messages
163
I guess just putting in 2 more 256 ram chips in the open slots won't be the job. What else would I have to do to get them to work in this machine? Why the big price difference between the 45ns PC800 RDRAM Rambus Memory and the 40ns. The latter is about half the price.
Maybe just better picking up a cheap Dell with Vista already installed than going through the expense and hassle.
Thanks for your input.
 
Joined
May 8, 2007
Messages
1
Rick,
It looks like we have the same computer! I'm running into the same problem. Here is what I found out today! We can run up to 2GB of memory. Dell offers it, they said I need to buy two. So at 359 a pop times 2 were looking at 750 out the door with tax! You have to be kidding I told them.
DELL
512 MB Memory Module for a Dell Dimension 8250 (533 MHz FSB) System
Manufacturer Part# SNP2W731C/512
Dell Part# A0767642

Tigerdirect and Crucial do no carry this product!

I was told I need PC 1066 non ecc by both Tiger and Dell!

Let me know if you can find something cheaper!

Thanks
BB
 

Rickkman

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Messages
163
The cost scared me away also. The machine is several years old and to put that much money into expensive ram seemed like a waste. There is someone on ebay that sells the ram for a lot less. He has excellent reviews and it is guaranteed to work in our machines. If you are going to upgrade this is probably the only reasonable option since he charges about a third of the prices that you were quoted.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top